SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 23, 2012, 05:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2012
3 Posts
I am using the KK2 with FW v1.2 and I noticed that I can 'reset' the board to work properly with self leveling after it seems to have been 'stuck' by simply resetting the Acc Trim up one like 0,0 to 1,1 or back from 1,1 to 0,0 whenever self leveling experiences the stuck angle issue. It seems like the software is not reading the hardware positions or does not clear the last position properly. Some tweek is needed in the software.

That said, I still think the KK2 is a great value flight controller and it's conception, coding and hardware provide a lot of low cost fun.

Usil
Usil is offline Find More Posts by Usil
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 23, 2012, 07:55 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Brisbane
Joined Nov 2011
949 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by zokizo View Post
i didnt try to add expo on rudder

i noticed if i make slow pirouette quad does NOT go up but if i wanna make fast pirouette quad goes UP,
like i said before same experience with two different kk2 boards
Sounds reasonable to me, there is nothing to detect the vertical motion, the gyros won't see it, and the accelerometer doesn't user the vertical axis.

It's not a heli with a tail rotor, the yaw for a pirouette comes from the vertical thrust motors.

Some flight controllers have a special UFO mode for fast pirouettes.
Erknie is offline Find More Posts by Erknie
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 08:21 PM
ntc
Registered User
Joined Sep 2011
180 Posts
Camera Gimbal

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapteinkuk View Post
#2
Q: Is it possible to write FW on this controller to use as standalone Camera gimbal like the multiwii?
A: Yes, I will write a camera gimbal FW for it.
does anyone know when this will be available?, also couldn't this be done with the standard quadcopter layout. ie not as a standalone camera gimbal but with the already existing xcopter layout as there are quite a few ports left empty when using a quad layout which could be used for the camera gimbal....or is this too dificult to integrate together.
Keep up the great work KK!
ntc is offline Find More Posts by ntc
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:27 PM
Dixie Normious
Eastcoast78's Avatar
Can A da....Ehh!!
Joined May 2010
5,574 Posts
Well just ordered another KK2 well keep it stock!!
Eastcoast78 is online now Find More Posts by Eastcoast78
RCG Plus Member
Old Sep 23, 2012, 09:43 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
kapteinkuk has not been in this thread for quite a while now
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:03 PM
Fly, crash, rebuild.
United States, NY, Shelter Island
Joined May 2011
878 Posts
I run a KK2 on the turnigy talon tricopter, NTM2826 1000kv on 3S with Hobbyking F30a escs with simonk firmware flashed.
After several packs through the frame, every time I punch the throttle, the tail drops down, effectively throwing the tri in reverse. The pitch response is good, normal, similar to my rcexplorer tri. I have p gains at 115 with I gains at 65-70. Yaw P is at 60 with yaw I gain at 45.
Could this be a ESC calibration issue? I did the 1 & 4 buttons with trans at full throttle but with simonk firmware, I'm unsure that they calibrate properly.
Perhaps I have a damaged tail motor or lower efficiency.
For the rest it flies great.
Thanks for any input.
H
shelterock is offline Find More Posts by shelterock
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:13 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Forgive me for asking but did you put the throttle to low. I use flashed Esc's and they beep when in hi and low throttle when I calibrate
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:20 PM
Fly, crash, rebuild.
United States, NY, Shelter Island
Joined May 2011
878 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech69x View Post
Forgive me for asking but did you put the throttle to low. I use flashed Esc's and they beep when in hi and low throttle when I calibrate
Hi, Tech69x,
Trans on, throttle to full, then plug in kk2, quickly hit 1&4 buttons, screen shows in calibration, then lower the throttle to zero.
I hear the 3 initialization sounds but not the hi or low beep.
I suspect that might be an issue, that's why I'm asking.

Can you walk me through you process and the approximate time between the different beeps? I had calibrated each one individually when I flashed them. Flew great on the hexa, but now I get the tail dropping when I punch the throttle at level hover.
Thanks,
H
shelterock is offline Find More Posts by shelterock
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2012, 10:29 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
When I calibrate I do the battery do the buttons throttle high Esc,s beep throttle low beep done but it sounds like to me you may have a motor going bad. After flying check and see if it is hotter than the rest or take one off the front and swap it with the one on the back. Good luck and

Happy flying
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 01:15 AM
Registered User
CO2X2010's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Oct 2010
2,305 Posts
gyro compensation

Quote:
Originally Posted by fjante View Post
maybe this will help you?

#14
Q: How to reverse the yaw gyro for a tricopter?
A: Go to the "Mixer Editor" and change the channel (number to the upper right) to 4 where the yaw servo is connected. Then change the "rudder" mix value to -100.
This one really helps ! Thank you...my Tri has been flying now. I was using the Emax servo on it and when I set it to -100 the Tri flys ....decided to use a bigger servo on it and I have to set it back to +100 again but now I know that not all servos are plug n play for a tri tail .
CO2X2010 is offline Find More Posts by CO2X2010
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: cynr100
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 03:30 AM
Registered User
Slovenia, Ljubljana
Joined Sep 2011
1,543 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by davereap View Post
previous quote....
when i move rudder stick left or right my quad goes left or right BUT ALSO GOES UP i can not make pirouette without quad goes 1-2M UP

i write problem here before one month and answer is been mostly maybe its defective board

i got it another one and still i have same situation so what i can do

my setting is

roll/pitch P 55 I 45
yaw P 40 I 40

firmware is 1.2

Tighten the tension on your throttle stick. Sounds like when you use rudder, you are also pushing up on the throttle a little.

from my reading as a newbee and not much flying experience could another reason be that to yaw or spin the model some of the motors have to speed up or slow down..so that the torque rotates the model... and surely any changes in motor speed will also result in some slight change in lift.
or is my understanding of that incorrect as well..
What ever is the reason, the answer will be in the constant use of the throttle to control the height, just like when you tilt to go forward, you need more throttle to maintain height, as some of the previous lift is now pushing the model forward..
That is one thing I am learning, these things fly on throttle, being a plane pilot I tend to chop the throttle when I get in a poor situation... but doing that only makes my quad crash...and thats not so good...
Lower your P gain and I gain on Yaw axis. Good P gain on yaw axis is when quad doesn't goes up or down when yawing.
er9xuser is offline Find More Posts by er9xuser
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 06:06 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
7 Posts
With the KK2 board can i replace the motor output with servos so as to control variable pitch props on a petrol powered Tricoptor that i am planing
Russram is offline Find More Posts by Russram
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 07:05 AM
Ikaruswannab
Joined Sep 2009
978 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by russram View Post
with the kk2 board can i replace the motor output with servos so as to control variable pitch props on a petrol powered tricoptor that i am planing
wt.....!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!
teopbako is offline Find More Posts by teopbako
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 08:31 AM
Registered User
Australia, VIC, Frankston
Joined Jul 2012
331 Posts
Good work, having just built my first Quad and only so far had a 5 minute test flight i'll now be tuning it, so i'm still learning and threads like these are a huge help.
CH33ZEBURG3R is offline Find More Posts by CH33ZEBURG3R
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2012, 08:50 AM
Wannabe B-26 pilot!
Matt Halton's Avatar
Southwold, Suffolk, UK.
Joined Nov 2002
4,914 Posts
Hi guys, I wonder if you can help me, I just took delivery of one of these boards from HK, I have connected it up to my tricopter. did a receiver test, all signals ok, except aileron, says no signal. Have tried 2 different TX's, one on 35 Mhz, and another TX/RX Spectrum 7, both reading 'no ail signal' Am not sure how to resolve this, any ideas/advice please?

Also, when arming, zero throttle and right rudder...Do I need to hold right rudder whilst connecting the lipo pack?
Sorry if my Q's seem dumb, but am new to this KK board/ tricopter scenario.

I look forward to some suggestions.

Matt
Matt Halton is offline Find More Posts by Matt Halton
Reply With Quote