New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 28, 2015, 11:20 AM
Find More Posts by maarten12100
Joined Jun 2015
18 Posts
Question
Quadcopter with (central) petrol power generator

Let me start of by saying I am not going to pursue those impossible designs like using petrol engines to directly power the propellers. Neither am I going to do a pulley design where all propellers have variable pitch setting.

Introduction to the forum:
As this is my first post here I will give a little introduction to who I am and why I am here. My name is Maarten I'm a 19 year old Dutch applied physics student at the Hague University of applied sciences. I'm currently in my second year and will be entering my third after the 4 week holiday. In this holiday I'm planning to build myself a quadcopter and my main aim will be to build one with long flight times.

I have never built a quadcopter before so this may seem like jumping into the deep a tad too fast. This is however not how I myself feel about it. Building something that is basically just bolting it together and has no personal touch is not something I really like.

Introduction
Since I have been lurking in the shadows on this forum for a couple of years already I know that these ideas have come up many times before. Mostly by people proposing to either use the petrol engines connected to the propellers with servos attached to the gas handle. An idea which is nearly impossible to execute, quadcopters as unstable as they are need fast responding electric motors.
I also know that various people have suggested the same generator idea I am proposing right now. Pulling it of may appear to be a mammoth undertaking to some but I think this problem can be solved.