HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 24, 2012, 07:00 AM
United States, CT, Plainville
Joined Aug 2012
137 Posts
Discussion
Aileron/Rudder mix in Trainer

I was considering this on my Tower 40 trainer. Mine seems to be a bear to handle. I found this article about mixing Aile/Rudd and it makes sense to do it.
http://www.rcflightschool.com/Basic_...lo_0B16-25.pdf
Has anyone tried it? What was their experience?
jsf135pal1 is offline Find More Posts by jsf135pal1
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2012, 07:48 AM
dusty bible = dirty life
Oklahoma City OK USA Where fakts still exist even if they are ignored
Joined Aug 2000
2,774 Posts
I have been teaching folks to fly RC all summer long for 17 years now. I am also an aerospace engineer, A&P mechanic and a mulit engine full scale pilot.

Folks in the hobby make waaayy too much fuss about what is and what isn't a coordinated turn and how to fly one.

In all the years I've flown RC I've only seen ONE rc model that actually had noticable adverse yaw that absolutely needed rudder to get a smooth turn.

So, first what do you mean by "...a bear to handle."? You aren't really discribing what sort of problem you are having. Without knowing the problem, mixing rudder may cause more problems.
Majortomski is offline Find More Posts by Majortomski
Old Oct 24, 2012, 07:53 AM
United States, FL, Destin
Joined Oct 2004
34 Posts
I'm in the process right now of learning to use the rudder with my left thumb. I always fly taildraggers and don't have any problems with ground handling but have'nt got use to using rudder much while flying. Past few times out I have been using rudder to make coordinated turns and cross stick with ailerons and flying has really improved. Flat circles and figure 8's are sooo much fun and slipping in for landings are a hoot.

Your plane will appear to fly better with a little mixing or you can just do it with your fingers. The best part is, it's your choice!

Scotty