HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Jan 24, 2013, 09:54 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,506 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTRotary View Post
Thanks for both responses Jim. I'm going to allow myself a little "woohoo!" on that date.

Given this expander and RF unit, are you still contemplating that integrated 9-channel with telem or is that over with now.

Out fo curiousity - why are the antennae longer for these than the nanos. I suspect this is a simple question with a complex answer...
Actually, its a simple answer. The Nano itself is a tuned antenna assembly. The circuit board, coils, PCB traces, and wires all form a dipole antenna. This is a single antenna. This is why you can't change the end of the Nano having the antenna wires. That whole portion is the magic of why the Nano works so well. The DivBee modules use two traditional antennas. These are separate antennas.

I do not know if the 9 channel receiver will be produced. The Expander boards have telemetry too.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2013, 09:56 AM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
19,929 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Yes. I will be bringing them to Toledo.
sweet! ...things are speeding right along in the new world order
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:35 AM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2004
185 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Yes. I will be bringing them to Toledo.
Great! ...bring/a/bunch
tande is offline Find More Posts by tande
Old Jan 24, 2013, 12:06 PM
Rangers Lead the Way
Joined Mar 2010
1,940 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
I do not know if the 9 channel receiver will be produced. The Expander boards have telemetry too.
Thanks for the explanation Jim. For those of us not going to Toledo, when can we hope to see these available on the website?
TTRotary is offline Find More Posts by TTRotary
Old Jan 24, 2013, 02:33 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
19,929 Posts
I've walked off hundreds of paces in a range test with Nano's... looking forward to seeing the range test with a new DivBee rx
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:35 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,506 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTRotary View Post
Thanks for the explanation Jim. For those of us not going to Toledo, when can we hope to see these available on the website?
Before Toledo. I am suppose to have the boards in mid-March.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 24, 2013, 06:37 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,506 Posts
Yeah, the range of the Nano is pretty impressive for such a tiny little thing. The DivBee has better range, and you can really see it when spinning the aircraft around because you don't get much, if any, of a difference in range at different orientations. Also, removing the transmitter antenna really shows how much more sensitive the DivBee based setup is... and it is a test you can do without having to walk hundreds of feet!
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 24, 2013, 07:35 PM
↓↘→ + (punch)
theKM's Avatar
central PA.
Joined Sep 2004
19,929 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew View Post
Yeah, the range of the Nano is pretty impressive for such a tiny little thing. The DivBee has better range, and you can really see it when spinning the aircraft around because you don't get much, if any, of a difference in range at different orientations. Also, removing the transmitter antenna really shows how much more sensitive the DivBee based setup is... and it is a test you can do without having to walk hundreds of feet!
seeing as how I have managed to get away with flying a Nano without the Tx antenna, divBee would now make it completely optional equipment
theKM is offline Find More Posts by theKM
Old Jan 24, 2013, 10:56 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,506 Posts
LOL! Well, I don't think that tip is going to make the manual though!
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:18 AM
Registered User
Tennessee
Joined Sep 2003
2,287 Posts
Does this mean that you could go back to the stubby antenna on the back of the transmitter like the first XPS transmitter?
ChuckA is offline Find More Posts by ChuckA
Old Jan 25, 2013, 07:58 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,506 Posts
We had to switch from the stubby antenna to the longer antenna because we had problems convincing people that a 1" antenna would work. Of course, this was 6 years ago when everyone was still on 72MHz. People still seem to be freaked out by short antennas.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:34 AM
Registered User
j_whitney's Avatar
United States, CA, Castro Valley
Joined Dec 2005
180 Posts
Jim, would there be any intrest in fiber-optic servo output such as this one? http://forgues-research.com/id1.html
j_whitney is offline Find More Posts by j_whitney
Old Jan 25, 2013, 09:30 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
Lake Havasu, AZ
Joined Jun 2005
15,506 Posts
I think the fiber optic concept is a waste in our models. Unless you are flying on 72MHz still, there is no need for this. Any frequency operating above 300MHz is completely immune to interface from ignition systems and other items that can generate EMI/RFI (like a metal clevis on a metal linkage). It is still possible to get interference in the servo itself, but the receiver's PWM output to the servo won't change.
JimDrew is online now Find More Posts by JimDrew
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 26, 2013, 12:01 PM
Registered User
j_whitney's Avatar
United States, CA, Castro Valley
Joined Dec 2005
180 Posts
Is it possible for interferance in the servo to travel back to the Rx? I don't know about thses things, is why I am asking
j_whitney is offline Find More Posts by j_whitney
Old Jan 26, 2013, 04:45 PM
Registered User
The Villages, Florida
Joined May 2003
361 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_whitney View Post
Is it possible for interferance in the servo to travel back to the Rx? I don't know about thses things, is why I am asking
What ????
JuanRodriguez is offline Find More Posts by JuanRodriguez
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold JR Channel Expander Clavin01 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Apr 13, 2012 06:48 AM
Looking to expand my operation... CyberJay Coaxial Helicopters 14 May 17, 2005 05:50 PM
PFM is looking to expand into the larger scale aircraft. WJ Birmingham Sport Planes 12 Jan 02, 2004 09:31 PM
Expand battery bay in flying wing? navyflier Foamies (Kits) 7 Apr 08, 2003 10:27 AM