HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 04, 2014, 03:08 AM
Hopped up on RC
United States, CA, Redwood City
Joined Sep 2014
198 Posts
Discussion
TW-748-1 F4U Corsair

I just purchased this 27 MHz FM brushed 370-a.

I am new to planes, but have been learning control with a mini quadcopter and micro helicopter. I have spent quite a bit of time on a simulator with a Cessna and Spitfire to get some of the basics down. The plan is to take some short take offs and landing to see how it goes, any thoughts are welcome.

I noticed the landing gear was not very stable and added glue. However, I am a little concerned about how the ailerons line up (or don't) I adjusted the servos best I could, but may be shaving off some foam to line up a little better.
BubbsMalone is offline Find More Posts by BubbsMalone
Last edited by BubbsMalone; Nov 04, 2014 at 01:07 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 04, 2014, 03:46 PM
Addicted To Flying Foam
United States, NE, Bennington
Joined Jan 2010
4,706 Posts
Wow, its a blast from the past! That was one of my first planes that I had. I learned a lot with that plane and to this day look back at the good times I had with this plane

I ended up do quite a few upgrades on this plane. All of them were worth it. Look here for what I did with it...

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...38&postcount=2

Kman
kman24 is online now Find More Posts by kman24
Old Nov 04, 2014, 05:51 PM
Hopped up on RC
Joined Sep 2014
198 Posts
Thanks for posting kman24, I'll check it out.

I was noticing this plane has been around for awhile, been looking through some posts and u-tube videos. I will be looking at an upgrade path if it survives
Old Nov 04, 2014, 06:04 PM
Addicted To Flying Foam
Joined Jan 2010
4,706 Posts
It's a pretty tough plane, the airframe that is. The cowl, landing gear, and motor gearbox are weak points. I ended up leaving the gear off, taping the cowl, and upgrading the motor/esc to a brushless setup. I got a lot of air miles out of mine