Wicked Jr Powered 24" Flying Wing

Hardware:
Don's Wicked Jr outrunner, 29g, 3300kv
http://donsrc.com/cart/index.php?_a=...&product_id=27
30amp ESC
APC 4.5x4.1 prop
2x HXT900 9g servos
1000mah 3S 25C+ lipos.

When I get CG nailed down after maiden, I will enclose all the hardware for the sake of speed. I am hoping for 70mph+ after enclosing the electronics.

The wing has the usual 3x thickness of KFM4 wings made from bluecor. Also, the leading edge is reinforced, it has a 1/4" sqaure wood dowel fore & aft, and a round 1/4" dowel side to side. I used coroplast for the winglets and "laminated" the elevons in packing tape to stiffen them up.

Hardware located as to achieve theoretical CG:

roo_ster is offline Find More Posts by roo_ster
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2012, 06:05 PM
Wonderfully Wicked
Willoughby, Ohio
Joined Jan 2002
13,218 Posts
Looking good! Let me know how it goes on that model. I have never used one of those airfoils before.

Don
The Don is online now Find More Posts by The Don
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 22, 2012, 11:56 PM
Standing Athwart History
United States, TX, Dallas
Joined Mar 2011
640 Posts
Maidened it this evening, dirty like the photo in the OP, but with the winglets extended below the wing proper. Lots of vert stab, but I can cut it back.

10-15mph winds & gusts, but hey, it is a foamy scratch-build. Suck it up & drive on..

The winds buffeted it, but it cut through them pretty darned good (too much winglet?). It would only show its light weight when I got it underbelly to the wind, going up. I think I need to give it a bit more control movement, pitch-wise. Roll rate is good & smooth. Needs some reflex. Or maybe I instinctively made it a bit nose-heavy due to the winds.