HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:34 PM
Joined Jan 2011
97 Posts
Discussion
Digitizng an old plan

Hello all,

My first post in this sub forum. I've been browsing all sorts of plans lately looking for something to build as my first R/C airplane trainer. My base I'm starting from is the 1959 22" J3 Cub plan by Gerald Zeigenfuse, modified by Dave Robelen. I'm currently working on digitizing the plan in Draftsight by Dassault Systems.

A bit about me, I have a degree in mechanical design/drafting, and have found draftsight to be an awesome and free 2d drafting software, a good knockoff of Autocad. If you know Autocad, Draftsight is a breeze to pickup, without having to shell out dough for a legal version of software. I am an exprienced R/C Heli pilot, not quite 3d flying, but I can do some basic aerobatics.

Anyways just starting this post to share my work with everyone, today I've been working on modifying the wing plan, correcting some issues I've noted with the hand drawn version, hopefully I will be able to get a revisioned version of this plan cleaned up and easily scaled in .dxf format for ease of scaling and symetrical building. My plan is to scale the plan 150% for a 33" span, I'm not quite sure what I'm going to settle on for a power system, I've got a selection of lipos from my R/C Cars and helicopters, from 800mah 3s-2200mah 3s, and a 2200 2s.

I'm thinking a 10gram motor will do the trick, but not quite sure, more time and more research, I will settle on the power system once I get an idea of the AUW of the build once I get to that point.

Anyways onto todays work so far, I've traced the wing ribs, and plotted my root/center section ribs to have a built in 5* dihedral. At 33" span this gives me just under 3/4 of an inch at the tips. The plan is to build the plane as a full 4ch plane, possibly 5 after I learn the ins/outs of flying planes vs helis.
SRWitt is offline Find More Posts by SRWitt