SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 18, 2014, 07:37 PM
Molon Labe
Canada, ON, Guelph
Joined Jun 2012
715 Posts
Question
Questions about Fly-Fly jets

I am relatively new to jets, and after a few small ones, I would like to try something larger. I have decided on one of the Fly-Fly 90mm jets, and have some questions to ask.
1. How do they fly, and are there and problems with the stock fan and motor? Would the Cheng Sun 12 blade 90mm be an option?

2. Which one flies the best on a low-end power system (1500ish watts)? I don't have the budget to drop $300 for a 2000+ watt setup.

3. Who should I order from? I am in Canada, and don't feel like paying the exorbitant customs fees on stuff from the US. I was going to order from Hobby88.

4. Anything else I should know? Mandatory mods?

Thanks
-NG
addictedtoplanes is offline Find More Posts by addictedtoplanes
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2014, 07:51 PM
Redneck Injuneer
Bradenton, Florida
Joined Aug 2007
6,515 Posts
I all honesty, Fly Fly has some decent flyers and it has some turkeys. Basically with all of them, you get a box with a foam airframe, a fan housing/impeller and fixed landing gear that will most likely bend on it's 1st landing.
The Mirage is probably the best flying of them all. I've had one of those as well as a F-100. The F-100 was really slow in a 1700 watt setup. The Mirage was closer to jet like performance.
Although it may hurt your feelings to lay out a few extra dollars, Freewing has some of the best EDF's available right now. A plug and fly Stinger 90 is a bargain in comparison.
Chances are, if you take some time to add up the components needed to finish a FlyFly (add for servos, motor, ESC etc.) you will find yourself in the same price range and still not hove something all that great.
bill34207 is offline Find More Posts by bill34207
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: 12 o'clock high 2014
Old Oct 18, 2014, 09:51 PM
Joined Dec 2013
3,717 Posts