SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 12, 2014, 06:48 AM
Joined Sep 2014
58 Posts
Gallery
35mm edf development + mig 21 prototype testbed

Hi everyone. Iv recently got back on the horse, after years out of the hobby. iv been playing around with some umx models and fixed up a few of my old hacks to get my flying back up to scratch, while also looking into greater power for my micro edf stuff. Luckily i could piggy back off the achievements of more imaginitive modelers like the wise one, nitrocharged. What a legend he is!

After seeing what he managed to do with an edf 30 and the motor from the skyangel 35mm jets i quickly found myself one of their f18s as an organ donor. (If anybody can direct me to a source of these motors i will be forever grateful)

long story short the f 18 flew like a dog log , needless to say it got gutted right away, so i started playing with rotors to get a system together quick, but my motor quit on me before i got it built into a working powertrain so i guessed it was time to take the bull by the horns, while grasping the nettle and seizing the day!

After a week of using all my playtime working out how to dismantle the motor and training my brain to count windings and keep orientation of everything going on the commutator i finally got the motor working again, for some reason my esc wouldnt run the motor when i terminated the windings in the delta config. maybe need some advice on timing etc. so i decided to go with 6 winds of .315mm wire, terminated in the y config. This gave me just over 140g of thrust, ( aeo 40mm 6 blade rotor, reduced to 35mm and 3 blades) aiming it at my kitchen scales, i mounted it to the scales pushing down too, and got similar results.