New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 20, 2015, 06:37 PM
Find More Posts by Ginantonicus
Joined May 2015
12 Posts
Question
"Windy day"/ 3rd plane

I have been flying for a bit over two months now. I have been flying the Champ and more recently a Um t-28. Now I am after a plane that is capable of flying in the wind. Out here average wind speed is 20 mph and turbulent so I am aiming at getting something that can fly in 15+ mph wind. My issue is Flying wings, Deltas and "Glider" styles of planes don't "do it" for me. At some stage I would like to get a umx beast but I'm thinking that's not the best idea for wind and I already have two micros. I have a dx6i. Budget would be around $160. Must be able to hand launch/ belly land. More Importantly it has to be fun to fly.
Ginantonicus is offline Find More Posts by Ginantonicus
Last edited by Ginantonicus; Jun 20, 2015 at 06:42 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 20, 2015, 08:19 PM
Find More Posts by Sarge707
United States, CT, Southington
Joined Apr 2008
336 Posts
FMS Easy Trainer 1280 BUT only with a 3S 1100mah lipo! Flew Great today in 12-15 MpH wind and Is very Good at aerobics! With a 2S 1300mah battery it barely got up into the wind but did soar once up there.
Sarge707 is offline Find More Posts by Sarge707
Old Jun 20, 2015, 09:33 PM
Find More Posts by balsa or carbon
Hot glue held together by foam
United States, WA, Vancouver
Joined Aug 2010
4,089 Posts
IMHO the keys to flying in wind are : pilot skill , low drag airframe and high thrust motor/prop/battery .

Probably a pylon racer type plane would work for you . Something like this :

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...arehouse_.html

or this :

balsa or carbon is online now Find More Posts by balsa or carbon
Last edited by balsa or carbon; Jun 20, 2015 at 10:01 PM.
Old Jun 20, 2015, 10:15 PM
Find More Posts by papadwight
United States, TN, Murfreesboro
Joined Apr 2013
1,191 Posts