New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 24, 2015, 11:43 PM
Find More Posts by Cereal_Killer
United States, OH, Columbus
Joined Dec 2014
412 Posts
Discussion
Open source LED flasher

Major update- these run from as low as 3.6 all the way to 16v input! That means it can be switched directly from your FC.

Hey guys, first post in this section. Along with RC one of my other favorite hobbies is LED lighting and also OSHW. I am an electrical engineer by trade so I have a huge amount of junk crap laying around, I decided to put a bit of that to use by whipping up a quick little PCB for an oscillator circuit to flash a couple LED's (or a couple strings of parallel LED's).

It's a BJT based oscillator, oscillation speed is user controllable by swapping components, either the CAP's or R2 and R3. Note both sides need to have matching values, a slight variation is ok but to large a difference and it wont oscillate. Also note it's easy to get the flash rate to high to see, try to start with a ratio that's near mine and adjust from there. To high a value of resistors and it wont flash and to low a value and it'll flash so fast your eye will see it as steady on.

I threw together a short video (about 6 min) that explains it. Feel free to build these for any purpose, RC or other. If you're anything like me and have a bunch of crap laying around you can probably build them for under $1/each (remember OSHPark sells in sets of 3) and the bare boards are $1.55 for the set and again I literally had the component's laying around. You can use SMD or [mostly] threwhole components, tho the 0805 resistor pads are a bit small for TH resistors.

One thing I will mention is that these need 9-16v to run so you probably cant control it (switch it on/of) directly from a FC pin just by applying power, I am using a FET to control it from the FC as a battery alarm, you can just hook it straight to 3s or 4s LiPO's tho with no problem.