HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 05, 2013, 12:00 PM
Germany, NRW, Lünen
Joined Sep 2012
19 Posts
Discussion
3D-Foamy Pitts with some changes

Hi,I'm a bloody beginner in scratchbuilding, but I´ll show you my first scratchbuild planes. First I build an indoor shocky. Pilot is my son. I use EPP colored in black for this. You see it on the right.

But I'm a real big fan of biplanes like a Pitts. So I found the plan at 3D-Foamy.com and build 2 versions of this real nice airplane in 7 mm EPP. On the left you see the indoor Pitts. Span is 90cm. Weight is 400 gr. Powered with 2S 600 Lipo. Enough for 5 Minutes flights. I do some changes in the plan so I doubled the Wings on top in the first 1/3 and sanded the leading edge.

Without colors...

The shocky...

Now I build a new Pitts for outdoor flying. Using the same shape in 110 % (span 100cm). I made wings with a NACA Profile and covered the ribs with 5mm EPP. I use 4mm carbon tubes to stif the wings. This seams a little to thin. Next time I'll use 6 mm. The fuselage is 25 mm EPP and 10 mm EPP. The weight is now 800 gr and I powered the plane with 3S 2200 Lipo an Aeolian 2826 brushless motor. Prop is 9x5. Today was the maiden. Sorry, no video, because I was so nervous. But after some trim it flights real great. Some quicker as the indoor version. I built in 3-4 degrees thrust to the right in the firewall but this is not enough. I think 5-6 degrees is better. But I gave some klicks right on the rudder and I`ll test it a little more before I make some changes at the firewall.
3D flight is inpossible with this motor. But rolls, loops, turns, even like a real plane is possible.

This is how I made the Wings:

I use UHU-POR hinges. This is a special contact adhesive.

Greats Peter
Kyrill is offline Find More Posts by Kyrill
Last edited by Kyrill; Mar 08, 2013 at 01:50 AM. Reason: working at my bad english vocabulary...
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 07, 2013, 12:53 PM
This is kid stuff.
USA, AR, Harrison