Old Jan 15, 2013, 11:20 AM
AKA Jon Rider
United States, MA, Holliston
Joined May 2004
1,052 Posts
Question
"Any Scale" RC Accessories

Just a question to the masses,

I have been modeling for 40+ years now (ouch) and I notice that a lot of the accessories we use like wheels, radial engines, machine guns and such are 1) limited to a small scale range and 2) are sometimes hard to come by, expensive and can be "less than great quality"

Would the Scale modeling community be willing to purchase accessories at any scale (1/4 and smaller) at a very reasonable price, created by a designer/modeler?

I'm toying on 3D printing these accessories on an "order by order" basis, many popular accessories like Spandau to Lewis Guns, Radials to Clerget, Exhaust stacks to gun sights... and ANY other accessory that can be 3D printed in plastic... keep the design files and scale then to ANY size the client wants. The more people want, the more options available to others...

Thoughts? - Interest?
Shnokey is online now Find More Posts by Shnokey
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:10 PM
I eat glue
Canada, NS, Yarmouth
Joined Jul 2006
3,419 Posts
Yep, to all the above.
baldguy is offline Find More Posts by baldguy
Old Jan 15, 2013, 01:27 PM
IAMCANADIAN
Canada, BC, Squamish
Joined Jul 2002
4,744 Posts
I think this could be quite popular if (big if) the cost makes it viable for you. You'd be doing scale bits like Callie does scale graphics.

I've been looking for a 1/12th scale Wright J5C. There is a fantastic WB 1/12 scale version but individual cylinders are $3.50ea. Add crankcase and shipping and it's almost $50.00 for a scale motor that I still have to assemble (and I've read that it's pretty heavy to boot).

Another thought is scale retracts. If they can be engineered to work, people would probably be willing to pay a bit more than for a set of wheels or a motor.
Grejen is offline Find More Posts by Grejen
RCG Plus Member