Old Apr 04, 2015, 11:52 AM
Find More Posts by BSquared18
United States, MN, Minneapolis
Joined Jun 2012
234 Posts
Question
Suggestions for Building a B-66 Bomber

Hi,

As you will see from this posting, I'm new to RC modeling. I know my first project will seem a bit ambitious, but I expect to learn a lot along the way.

This thread continues from one I started in the Scratch Built forum, before realizing that this forum--for EDFs--was available: "Would Like First Impressions of B-66 Project" (http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2381385

In short, I want to build a foam, 50-inch-wingspan B-66 Destroyer. Because I want it to be as close as possible to scale, I'm considering using two 50mm EDFs since anything larger probably wouldn't fit in the to-scale nacelles.

Attached is an image showing three different sized nacelles and the diameter of the interior tube from each nacelle. I see that the Dr. Mad 50mm external diameter is about 2.09 inches, so that would seem to be about right for the to-scale nacelle.

Also attached is a spreadsheet showing my initial estimates for the weight of the plane--about 32 ounces.

So, I have a few questions:

Do my weight estimates seem reasonable? If not, what might be expected for a foam plane of that size?

Is it reasonable to expect that two 50mm EDFs would have sufficient power for this plane? For what I've read, I realize there are a lot of variables, such as design and power set up.

I should mention that I'm not looking for super performance. The actual, full-sized plane had a thrust to weight ratio of .35, and I'd be happy if performance in the model mimics that of the real plane.

If the 50mm units will do the job and if there is some excess capacity, I would like to add retracts, which are not included in my initial weight estimates.