HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 09, 2014, 07:27 PM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,476 Posts
Dear Questor.

Just because someone on DIY forum posted that loading Plane firmware then copter firmware clears non volatile memory, that does NOT make it so.

I hope the following evidence will convince you to stop posting that misinformation at every opportunity.

Below are partial screen captures of reading APM 2.5 ATmega2560 EEPROM after performing various operations, the rest of the EEPROM is either 00H or FFH, not shown to keep it simple.

Note: Terminal setup erase is the ONLY operation that clears all EEPROM to 00H, all the other operations load default parameters and do not clear all of non volatile memory. Yes, I have tried all the possible combinations, it is not guesswork like saying load plane then copter is misleading incorrect guesswork.

APM 2.5 EEPROM after loading ArduCopter Plane then loading Copter




This is the ONLY thing that actually clears ALL of Non Volatile Memory back to 00H then loads only the default parameters for that version over a cleared fill of 00H

APM 2.5 EEPROM after Terminal setup erase reset Y then reboot APM 2.5 hardware

jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Last edited by jabram; Dec 09, 2014 at 07:52 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2014, 02:51 AM
Registered User
Gredeby's Avatar
Kingdom of Sweden, Blekinge County
Joined Aug 2010
85 Posts
Jabram,
Thanks a lot for your detailed info. I appreciate it.
Gredeby is online now Find More Posts by Gredeby
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2014, 07:27 AM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gredeby View Post
Jabram,
Thanks a lot for your detailed info. I appreciate it.
Wow, that made it go quiet, too much information to think about
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 14, 2014, 05:53 PM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Cleveland
Joined Nov 2013
102 Posts
3.2 on APM2.5

I am currently running 3.1.5 on an APM2.5 quad. I have been reading about the improvements , bug fixes & new flight modes of 3.2 , but also the stuff that you can't & even lose from 3.1.5 if running 8bit APM FCs. This info is scattered across various forums & posts.
Has anyone tabled the advantages & disadvantages of 3.2 on APM to help make the decision easier? Maybe I should just ask Santa for a Pixhawk/Fixhawk for XMAS
brewski850 is offline Find More Posts by brewski850
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2014, 06:15 PM
Quiet Achiever
Joined Feb 2008
1,594 Posts
Here is a partial Flight from this weeks testing

Arduflyer 2.5 with Aluminum Anti-vibration plate
PowerZone 2600 FPV Sail Plane
AUW 5.46 Kg

I use Arduflyer 2.5 with ArduPlane 2.78b firmware from last year.

Works everytime ! In this video we bungy launch...and switch to auto after the first few turns.

PowerZone 2600 Mapping mission test (11 min 36 sec)
RYBAT is online now Find More Posts by RYBAT
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My Build Logs
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2014, 06:43 PM
Registered User
RocketMouse's Avatar
Joined May 2011
419 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabram View Post

Note: Terminal setup erase is the ONLY operation that clears all EEPROM to 00H,
How to do that now, when there is no more cli in 3.2?
RocketMouse is offline Find More Posts by RocketMouse
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2014, 01:52 AM
Registered User
jabram's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Kendall
Joined Jul 2012
5,476 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RocketMouse View Post
How to do that now, when there is no more cli in 3.2?
Details in an earlier post http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...postcount=5130 same procedure for APM or Fixhawk

It makes no sense to remove the ability to clear all non volatile memory with absolute certainty. Specially when obviously it can make a significant difference which has been demonstrated many times when it fixes all sorts of weird firmware issues.
jabram is offline Find More Posts by jabram
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 15, 2014, 02:37 AM
Registered User
RocketMouse's Avatar
Joined May 2011
419 Posts
Thanks. Didn't read previous page.

It definitely should be added a button or a script to ERASE.
RocketMouse is offline Find More Posts by RocketMouse
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2014, 04:13 AM
Registered User
Australia, QLD, Cleveland
Joined Nov 2013
102 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RYBAT View Post
Here is a partial Flight from this weeks testing

Arduflyer 2.5 with Aluminum Anti-vibration plate
PowerZone 2600 FPV Sail Plane
AUW 5.46 Kg

I use Arduflyer 2.5 with ArduPlane 2.78b firmware from last year.

Works everytime ! In this video we bungy launch...and switch to auto after the first few turns.

http://youtu.be/q37pUc2lOhI
Amazing flight. I have a Bixler 1.1 up in the cupboard which I learnt to fly on (and still in one piece as I'm a Virgo) & after seeing this will be digging it out & putting an APM into it for FPV. I think with APM 8 bit we should all stick to the older tried & trusted firmware as the latest 3.2 with 'All The Bells & Whistles' is obviously only for the 32bit processors which are just cruising above idle at the speed they run , with huge EEprom & RAM & even onboard coprocessor. It's obvious the days of 8 bit are numbered. Sad but true
brewski850 is offline Find More Posts by brewski850
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion APM 2.5 / Ardupilot Mega / RCTimer Arduflyer Discussion Thread (updated 5/8/13) Mochaboy Multirotor Electronics 20011 Yesterday 06:16 AM
Discussion FC - Specifically Naza vs APM 2.5 / Ardupilot Cadriel Multirotor Talk 51 Nov 15, 2013 03:26 PM
Found ArduPilot 2.5 - APM 2.5 or Arduflyer jjmelo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 13 Feb 12, 2013 04:13 AM
Found APM 2.5 (Ardupilot or Arduflyer) jjmelo FPV Equipment (FS/W) 2 Feb 12, 2013 04:13 AM