SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 18, 2001, 09:06 PM
Curitiba , Brazil
Joined Oct 2001
81 Posts
Charging packs

Hi Guys, I'm really new to this hobby, and I didn't even flight yet.
I've just received my radio this afternoon.
I've bought my foam plane (plane, motor, bat) here(Brasil) , and order from your country, the radio gear and a charger.
My problem is that the guy who sold the airplane said it would come with a 7 cell 800mah,but it came with a 8 cell 800 mha. so I bought a hitec 315+ peak charger. It says that it can charge from 5 to7 cell from 1200 to 200 mha.CAn I still use it to charge my 8 cell 800 mha??
Can I use the charger that comes with the radio ( hitec focus 4) to charge my bat pack?( I know tht it is not a peak ch. but can I use it?
Sorry about my broken english....
CodFish is offline Find More Posts by CodFish
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2001, 11:25 PM
USA, NC, Greenville
Joined Dec 1999
9,273 Posts
First welcome to the EZone Cod.

Is your 8*800 pack a NiCad or a NiMH pack ?

If it is a NiMH the HiTec charger will not do a very good job.
If the supplier will take it back consider doing so.
The Super Nova 250S charger is a much better choice. It will charge all cells except lithium and will do larger packs. Up to 25 cells.

And yes the charger that comes with your radio will charge your 8 cell pack regardless of the cell type. (NiCad or NiHM. Don't use it for lithiums though) Use the transmitter side outputs. It will take a long time though. But it will get you in the air while you get your other charger issues resolved. The radios transmitters output is probably about 50 mAh, If so charge the drained pack 16 to 22 hours.
Kevin Murray is offline Find More Posts by Kevin Murray
Old Oct 19, 2001, 08:52 AM
Curitiba , Brazil
Joined Oct 2001
81 Posts
Hey kevin , thanks for your fast answer!!!!