HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 21, 2010, 06:00 AM
Suspended Account
Netherlands, NH, Edam
Joined Jul 2004
5,535 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooks View Post
- High-precision attitude through to use 32 ARM7microprocessors, integrate GPS receiver, three-axis MEMS gyro, three-axis accelerometers, pressure altimeter, inertial strapdown attitude algorithm and combined with Kalman digital filtering and data fusion algorithms .
That's a rather ambitious project, not many have succeeded here, most do a partial implementation which is lacking in many aspects. Any further details? As I'm not aware of any Chinese RC electronics company having the know-how to pull this off. In order for this to be accepted it has to be bulletproof, as noone will risk losing a costly UAV/FPV plane due to sloppy coding or ditto soldering/parts selection/design. The Chinese don't have a great trackrecord in that regard, so this has to be exceptionally well designed to be even considered over offerings such as the (excellent) AttoPilot.

Cheers,

Sander.
ssassen is offline Find More Posts by ssassen
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 21, 2010, 08:02 AM
Registered User
Hooks's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
271 Posts
Video showing the function on the FY 20 A
FY 20 A RC stabilizer (3 min 28 sec)
Hooks is offline Find More Posts by Hooks
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 12:22 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,122 Posts
thanks for posting Fergus.

can you try a different servo? try a digital compared to analog?
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Fergus's Avatar
Ireland
Joined Apr 2005
353 Posts
Quote:
thanks for posting Fergus.

can you try a different servo? try a digital compared to analog?
I'll do that. I'm currently building the EPO skywalker. I'll use different servos on the wing and try that wing on the EPS version I'm currently flying.
Fergus is offline Find More Posts by Fergus
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 02:55 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,122 Posts
great, even just plugging them in hopefully you can hear a difference... that way you don't have to install them in the plane and find out they are worse!!!

Good luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fergus View Post
I'll do that. I'm currently building the EPO skywalker. I'll use different servos on the wing and try that wing on the EPS version I'm currently flying.
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 05:40 PM
Registered User
saabguyspg's Avatar
Calgary Canada
Joined Jun 2006
5,122 Posts
hey Fergus can you tell me where the ppm input on the FY system goes? I want to use the ppm output on my reciever to reduce my wiring....

thanks!
saabguyspg is offline Find More Posts by saabguyspg
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 07:12 PM
Registered User
Fergus's Avatar
Ireland
Joined Apr 2005
353 Posts
I haven't seen such a feature on the FY20-A and it's not in the manual

Perhaps it's on the higher end AP model. Maybe Hooks can advise.

Regards

Fergus
Fergus is offline Find More Posts by Fergus
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2010, 10:41 PM
Oopss. Oh well.
borneobear's Avatar
In the tropics
Joined Jan 2006
3,623 Posts
Foxtech seems to be selling a same-named gyro stabilizer, but comes with a rubber band mounting (???).

http://translate.googleusercontent.c...OnanfgkUEU6dQ#

Price is the same, but they allow EMS Shipping which is a whole bunch cheaper and less prone to customs abuse.

Anyone can confirm that they are both the same items?


BB
borneobear is offline Find More Posts by borneobear
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 02:50 AM
Registered User
Fergus's Avatar
Ireland
Joined Apr 2005
353 Posts
The FY20A comes with the same mounting plate. It's for use on high vibe planes. Not needed on an electric. That looks to be the same thing.

Regards

Fergus
Fergus is offline Find More Posts by Fergus
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 03:37 PM
Registered User
Hooks's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
271 Posts
@Fergus

I would use the mounting plate even though you fly electric. Minimum of vibes will give the best performance. Please use the plate with the rubber bands.

We ship with DHL because it's much safer and it has better insurance.

A new manual on the system is out in v.1 on the new FY 21 AP II. Yes I know it still needs some work.. Trying to keep up.

FY 20 A Manual
Hooks is offline Find More Posts by Hooks
Last edited by Hooks; May 22, 2010 at 04:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 04:05 PM
Registered User
Fergus's Avatar
Ireland
Joined Apr 2005
353 Posts
Am I correct in thinking the illustration above which shows the unit mounted on it's side is incorrect?

I have it mounted flat and the control response on each axis is correct

Hooks I will try the mounting plate if you say so. I have not had any issues with the unit indicating excessive vibration but I suppose greater isolation will allow the gain to be set higher.

Regards

Fergus
Fergus is offline Find More Posts by Fergus
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2010, 04:06 PM
Suspended Account
Netherlands, NH, Edam
Joined Jul 2004
5,535 Posts
Hooks,

Noticed my question top of the page? I'd appreciate an answer if you can be bothered to reply please

Cheers,

Sander.
ssassen is offline Find More Posts by ssassen
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old May 22, 2010, 04:42 PM
Registered User
Fergus's Avatar
Ireland
Joined Apr 2005
353 Posts
Sander here is the company website

www.feiyudz.cn

I don't doubt there are Chinese companies who can design products like this. I have a few friends using the DJI system on helis and they speak very highly about it. I believe that is made in China.

Regards

Fergus.
Fergus is offline Find More Posts by Fergus
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 02:45 AM
Registered User
Hooks's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
271 Posts
Sorry Sander! didn't see your ?
The company behind this unit is mainly supporting China Military with UAV systems.
But now they can sell this tech in hobby versions.

Please also see the manual Sander.
Hooks is offline Find More Posts by Hooks
Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2010, 02:49 AM
Registered User
Hooks's Avatar
Joined Jun 2009
271 Posts
@Fergus

Yes it's incorrect position.
Hooks is offline Find More Posts by Hooks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Remzibi OSD (Poor Man's OSD) integration with ArduPilot HappyKillmore FPV Talk 542 Dec 26, 2013 09:08 AM
Question Using fma copilot ii with OSD-Pro? RHash Eagle Tree Systems 17 Aug 11, 2013 05:19 AM
Discussion best OSD with most features for the money? OSD product matrix here.. markm75 FPV Talk 66 May 03, 2010 03:31 PM
Discussion Octocopter for aerial photography with - FPV - OSD - Head tracker danielpetrescu Multirotor Talk 1 Mar 26, 2010 03:30 PM
For Sale FY-22 Rapter EDF Jet 3DTRYER Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 1 Mar 15, 2010 01:52 PM