HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 07, 2014, 09:01 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,327 Posts
I run a castle 10amp BEC in mine set to 8.2V... Fast and powerful.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 07, 2014, 10:11 PM
Keep calm...and CALL BATMAN!!!
United States, CA, Portola Valley
Joined Aug 2013
849 Posts
Have you had anything go wrong with the 10amp compared to the 20a? Which one do you like better?
Charlie Tilney is offline Find More Posts by Charlie Tilney
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2014, 10:16 PM
This is NOT a TOY?
C_Watkins's Avatar
United States, GA, Atlanta
Joined Jul 2011
2,206 Posts
If I'm running HV, I still like having the separate small 2s, myself.
Direct connect. Actually, I keep a 4" heavy duty extension plugged into the receiver, and directly connect the battery to that for each flight. (With a servo clip)
C_Watkins is online now Find More Posts by C_Watkins
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 07, 2014, 10:49 PM
bryansifsof44's Avatar
United States, AK, Anchorage
Joined Oct 2011
4,327 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Tilney View Post
Have you had anything go wrong with the 10amp compared to the 20a? Which one do you like better?
Over 1000 flights on two different setups... Never a issue. Actually I have used 7-10 amp BECs without issue.

I also have over 400 flights on the pro powering 4 7954s to 8v... Also no issues. Make sure you hot glue or support the outputs on the pro. Seen them fail from many flights wearing out the wires. After I saw that I hot glued everything coming out of the housing.
bryansifsof44 is online now Find More Posts by bryansifsof44
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Weights for planes
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 08, 2014, 12:20 AM
Faith.Happiness.Believe.3 D
flymike1's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2013
562 Posts
Well I got the 20 amp pro then i seen the 10amp so I got that just incase It would work and save weight. I got this for the field...
http://www.ebay.com/itm/251497097840...84.m1439.l2649
flymike1 is offline Find More Posts by flymike1
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Easter Flying
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2014, 06:12 PM
Faith.Happiness.Believe.3 D
flymike1's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2013
562 Posts
Hey guys almost finished building. I just have to wonder if I need the switch that is attached to the ESC? Is everyone using it? And for what? Thanks
flymike1 is offline Find More Posts by flymike1
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Easter Flying
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2014, 06:55 PM
Team Extreme Flight, JR, BandE
Georgetown, IN
Joined Dec 2003
1,444 Posts
I like it but not necessary.
Jeff
jwilliamsrc is offline Find More Posts by jwilliamsrc
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2014, 07:08 PM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,268 Posts
It's all personal preference. I bypass them most of the time, but I'm a stickler for plugging the battery in, and unplugging it, on the runway. I always treat the airplane like a loaded weapon. If you feel more comfortable using the switch(to power down the BEC) it's a nice option. just remember to unplug your battery when you get to the pits, because it will drain the pack.
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2014, 07:30 PM
Back in the hobby- ALL in!
dth7's Avatar
United States, NH, Greenland
Joined Feb 2012
877 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by flymike1 View Post
Hey guys almost finished building. I just have to wonder if I need the switch that is attached to the ESC? Is everyone using it? And for what? Thanks
Can be a fail point. Nice but I take mine off.
dth7 is offline Find More Posts by dth7
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2014, 12:47 AM
Faith.Happiness.Believe.3 D
flymike1's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2013
562 Posts
Thanks Guys. Did you solder the wires together?
flymike1 is offline Find More Posts by flymike1
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Easter Flying
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2014, 03:59 AM
Some.. call him Tim...
Ducati Mechanic's Avatar
United States, TX, Austin
Joined Oct 2008
6,268 Posts
Yes. Just remove the switch and solder them together.
Ducati Mechanic is offline Find More Posts by Ducati Mechanic
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Extreme Flight 70" Extra 300 EXP - build/fly/video hercdriver7777 3D Flying 2433 Apr 21, 2014 10:46 AM
Build Log Extreme Flight 60" Edge 540T EXP - Build/Fly/Video FlopGun 3D Flying 249 Apr 16, 2012 10:46 AM
Help! D-60 build thread Chronic DS'er Dynamic Soaring 3 Jun 23, 2011 10:04 PM
Sold Extreme Flight 58" Extra Ready To Fly (GA) traderdave2 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Apr 26, 2011 05:33 PM
Video EXTREME FLIGHT RC EXTRA 300EXP in Action! EXTREME FLIGHT Electric Plane Talk 1 Jun 10, 2009 08:45 PM