Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old May 29, 2014, 02:59 AM
Joined May 2014
2 Posts
Discussion
Acquiring a Plane and Sport / Private Pilot License?

I am looking for more information on becoming a sport pilot/private pilot VFR and IFR (I have checked most all websites and could use some firsthand advice). Also I am wondering what the cost of a first plane would be along with maintenance, storage, fuel, operation etc. what would this entail at a minimal cost level and of course, still remain completely safe.
What I have in mind is becoming sport certified and acquiring a LSA aircraft similar to an older Ercoupe, Piper or Taylorcraft etc. while progressing into a private pilot license at my cost rate and eventually upgrading to a 4 seat plane. I have limited knowledge on this and am just trying to gather some information to determine if it can be done on an average budget. Are the aforementioned aircrafts practical or antiques? What is a minimal but practical budget for such an undertaking?
Any general guidance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone.

wellyZ is offline Find More Posts by wellyZ
to remove ads between posts
Old May 29, 2014, 03:35 AM
United States, IL, Glenwood
Joined Nov 2013
317 Posts
First what is your location? And second not to sound like a D head usualy if you have to ask how much you probably can't afford it. Maintanence cost alone is gunna be about 10000 usd a year on an average minimum.
Gregertman is offline Find More Posts by Gregertman
Old May 30, 2014, 01:30 AM
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Oct 2013
611 Posts
Why are you asking this on a RC forum?
Seattlehiker is online now Find More Posts by Seattlehiker
Old May 30, 2014, 02:32 PM
Hey y'all!!! Watch this!!!
United States, VA, Gloucester
Joined Jul 2007
341 Posts