Old Jul 19, 2016, 01:44 PM
Find More Posts by m4rc3l
Nederland, GE
Joined Jan 2010
159 Posts
Discussion
quadcopter add-on

I name this, Airlock the Yaw I-term set to zero. this removes the heading lock effect of the yaw axis, and should allow the fin to align the control axis to the airflow, like a airplane. as a mainly glider pilot i find multicopter control a bit confusing when it gets low and fast. although i just started. i am going to test if this works, and make more flying minutes with this, while additionally learning to coordinate turns and control. when i can coordinate, i can remove the fin, and fly without. hovering should essentially be the same, i can already hover for some time. testing soon at the local RC field
m4rc3l is offline Find More Posts by m4rc3l
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 20, 2016, 03:47 AM
Find More Posts by xlcrlee
Joined Apr 2006
5,812 Posts
do some learning in ZERO-wind (indoors best) and practice pirhuettes with yaw + power, THEN turn with it and fly it very slowly around you at shoulder level (protects face, simulated "low flt")-- in both directions, first just with yaw + power on left stick and fwd on rt.stick, then add bank w/ rt stick to yaw + power

forget aerodynamic "yaw rudder" ....
xlcrlee is offline Find More Posts by xlcrlee
Old Jul 20, 2016, 10:25 AM
Nederland, GE
Joined Jan 2010
159 Posts
yes i suppose it will be like sidewheels on a bike when learning; at first one rolls on the sidewheels heavily, later one can unload the sidewheels for ever more of the time, yet later the wheels form a hindrance, and one rather bikes without. however, i do expect a nice airplane feel to it, almost bank & yank so to say. and nice groovy wide spacious flying.

i did fly with considerable wind only, yet.
Old Jul 20, 2016, 11:55 AM
Joined Apr 2006
5,812 Posts