Old Jul 12, 2002, 04:41 PM
Red Merle ALES
United States, Mt, Helena
Joined Apr 2002
5,658 Posts
Aerodynamics Question

I'm building a G.W. E3D and here wrote the following in the instructions:

Quote:
Round the leading edges of all the tail surfaces using a sanding block. LEAVE THE TRAILING EDGES SQUARE! DO NOT ROUND THE TRAILING EDGES! Rounded trailing edges tend to make an aircraft "hunt" and not trim properly, and they also exacerbate any tendancy to flutter.
End Quote.

Could someone please explain this to me? I'm a glider thermal duration guy by trade and thin trailing edges are the way we've always done to reduce drag. Also, flutter in models is normally due to linkages, IMHO and experience.

Thanks
Curtis
Curtis Suter is online now Find More Posts by Curtis Suter
RCG Plus Member
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 12, 2002, 04:45 PM
Vernon, BC, Canada
Joined Jan 2001
803 Posts
Someone did some wind tunnel tests and found control surfaces were more effective and less prone to flutter if they were either thin or square rather than rounded.
SheldonYoung is offline Find More Posts by SheldonYoung
Old Jul 12, 2002, 05:05 PM
HyperFlight Support
United Kingdom, England, Stratford-upon-Avon
Joined Feb 2001
3,910 Posts
If control surface trailing edges are rounded the air will try and follow the curve, but will then break away unevenly, depenent upon the rounded TE profile, the control surface deflection, tiny protruberances earlier in the boundary layer, etc. In other words the flow will be a turbulent/separated mess. Also if the control surface is tapered the thick turbulent or separated boundary layer will mask small movements of the control surface, giving less accurate control near the centre.