Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:00 AM
Somewhere lost in Texas
United States, TX, Flower Mound
Joined Jan 2011
298 Posts
Discussion
How To - Basic noob questions

Hello,

New to the Sailplane World, but not to RC.. I have a basic question regarding flight modes and how they should 'look' like.. I am setting up 4 modes with my x9303.. They are: Launch, Speed, Cruise, and Thermal..

Would anyone know of a source for some pictures or video that shows what these are supposed to look like when active.. ??

Here's what I have setup so far and these are just guesses..

In Launch Mode I have all surfaces in a neutral position with not much mixing.

In Thermal mode, I have a few degrees of down aileron and flaps with a bit of elevator.

In Speed mode, I have a couple degrees of up aileron and flaps with some elevator. I notice I pick up a lot of velocity in this mode.

So that leaves Cruise.. Any pointers or recommendations?

I am practicing on my Radian Pro till I get my 'new' used Shadow rebuilt.

many thanks,

Paul
Patchitagain is offline Find More Posts by Patchitagain
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:09 AM
-----
Ireland, County Kerry, Kerry
Joined Dec 2005
6,895 Posts
Hi Paul!

Is there any particular reason why you want to have flight modes? They really aren't essential unless you are competing. They just constitute something else you have to remember... Camber adjustments (reflex and camber) can be permanently on a slider, which also gives you a finer control as then it will be proportional. Elevator compensation for camber is possible with most decent radios.

Chris
Woodstock 1 is offline Find More Posts by Woodstock 1
Old Dec 09, 2012, 11:21 AM
registered weapon
United States, MT
Joined Mar 2008
3,218 Posts