HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 21, 2012, 06:34 PM
United States, CA, Alpine
Joined Jan 2008
3 Posts
Help!
How do you desing your wings?

The title says it all. What process do you guys use to design your wings? I have looked at programs that do it for you, like CompuFoil3D but that's a very expensive program and I am only building one wing. And its my first one. I do have CAD and use it every day so I can draft just about anything. My first wing design is a copy of one that I crashed. It has dihedral, and two panels per side. It is also tapered from the root to tip in profile view and the second panel tapers in plan view as well. Not a straight forward thing to draft. Any words of wisdom? I have attached a picture of what I am trying to replicate and improve upon for sure. This is from an old model that I'm fairly confident is of a Cessna 182. So I do know the airfoil is a NACA 2412. I am new to this so please try and use small words.
mikey9821 is offline Find More Posts by mikey9821
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 21, 2012, 07:24 PM
Australia, WA, Kalgoorlie
Joined Apr 2011
1,402 Posts
That doesn't look like a classical Cessna 182 wing planform unless the flap sections were modified at some stage, however...

It would be a good idea to make sure that the NACA 2412 airfoil is the one used on the model- it would be a shame if you built up the wing and then find it does not fit correctly on the fuselage. Can you sacrifice the broken wing by sectioning it and tracing the root and tip airfoils for both panels of a wing? If you can do that and accurately trace the rib airfoils in .dwg format at 1:1 scale, you can check the tracings against the NACA 2412. From there it would not be too hard to loft the wing ribs, even without an airfoil progaram. Particularly so if you want to make a Cessna like planform where the inboard panel is of contant chord.

Here's a .dxf of NACA 2412 for you to use.

Good luck

Odd