SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Dec 01, 2014, 11:07 PM
Joined Dec 2011
2 Posts
Discussion
First build- Will it fly???

I used ideas from Experimental Airlines to construct this thing. Just need to mount servos and do some touch ups and I'll be ready to try her out.

I'm a noob. Have had a bixler 1 for three years. Flown and crashed it a handful of times. So I took all the hardware out and installed it on this new contraption.

Specs:
Foamboard, carbon arrows, tape, glue, Velcro, aluminium sheet
60" wing span, 5" cord
37" nose to tail
400g w/electronics
Stock bixler motor, servos, ESC, 2200 3s lipo
CoG at center of the wings

What do you think? Will it Fly? I guess I'm most worried about the wing not having enough lift capabilty, and the stabilizers looking cool but not really serving any function.
hikeXamerica is offline Find More Posts by hikeXamerica
Last edited by hikeXamerica; Dec 01, 2014 at 11:13 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2014, 12:52 AM
Build straight - Fly twisty
Australia, QLD, Little Mountain
Joined Feb 2010
4,420 Posts
That, "CoG at center of the wings" is a worry.
The CG will need to be in a range of about 25 to 33% from the leading edge.
Start at 25% for the first flight and sneak it back in small increments to find the sweet spot.
You will have plenty of lift, don't concern yourself about that.
Just make sure that everything is lined up OK and that the controls are moving in the right directions and, with the more forward CG, it will fly fine.
Whiskers is online now Find More Posts by Whiskers
Old Dec 02, 2014, 02:37 AM
Fremont, CA
United States, CA, Fremont
Joined Jan 2009
1,742 Posts
Like Whiskers said, you might have CG trouble with such a short nose.
Here's what I'd suggest...
djacob7 is offline Find More Posts by djacob7
Old Dec 02, 2014, 02:46 AM
Joined Feb 2010
4,420 Posts
Yes, it can't be overstated.
Do not try to fly it with the CG at 50%.
The longer nose is a good idea.
Old Dec 02, 2014, 08:17 AM