Old Apr 03, 2016, 09:17 AM
Find More Posts by geostyl
Cyprus, Nicosia
Joined Jan 2016
65 Posts
Question
OPTO ESC, Pixhawk and 6S battery

Hi All,

I consider my self a very keen-to-learn newbie. However, I am not a complete newb, as I have been building foamies for a few years now, and I have built from scratch a 320, a 250 (well, bought parts based on other builts I've seen online), and I have rebuilt with new electronics my Quanum Nova after a catastrophic failure.

Now I am in the process of building my first truly DIY quad, this time a larger one for AP.

For a frame I bought myself an HMF U580 Pro, and also 30cm carbon arms to extend it

for motors the Multistar Elite 4114 330KV (bought 6 for good measure) and will run them with the Tarot 15" folding props

For ESC the ZTW Spider Series 40A OPTO (again, 6 for good measure)

For flight controller I got the Pixhawk with all the bells and whisles, probably not an original as it was quite cheap.

I also bought 2 huge 6S batteries (8k and 12k mah). E-calc is giving me some very nice flight times.

Now, to my main issue.

I just recently realised that OPTO ESCs do not have BECs. Also pixhawk runs on 5V. Will this power module do the trick? Will the one in the Pixhawk buldle in the above link suffice?

If I put that between my battery and my PDB, will I still need BEC's for the ESCs? I came across this awesome diagram. Will that work for my case which is 6S and OPTO ESCs or will I need some redundant BECs between the power module and the ESCs?

Sorry for the long thread full of links, just trying to make sure I don't burn anything as this cost me an arm and a leg.
geostyl is offline Find More Posts by geostyl
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 03, 2016, 10:05 AM
Find More Posts by destey
Joined Mar 2015
441 Posts
That one has a 28v max, so at 6s you are getting near the max. I've seen modules that look like that with a 50v max for around that price. Takes some digging though, 9/10 that look like that are 28v or less.