SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 19, 2014, 06:21 PM
Joined Sep 2014
3 Posts
Help!
Champ RTF motor problem?

Hey, I'm new to the RC Airplane Hobby, and I have recently discovered a problem on my Champ. When I finish charging I fly it around fine, but occasionally when I try to take off, the motor just revs. It's like you push the throttle stick up and down very quickly. Anyone know what the problem is?
I Wanna Name is offline Find More Posts by I Wanna Name
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 19, 2014, 10:17 PM
Y=C+I+G
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
8,211 Posts
a video would help.

do you mean it has a spurt of power and then stops even though you have the throttle up? this is on a fully charged battery?

also, how long are your typical flights?
cmdl is online now Find More Posts by cmdl
Old Sep 20, 2014, 04:26 PM
Michigan's U.P.
Joined Dec 2003
550 Posts
Slip, slipping away?

Sounds like something is slipping in your drive system.

Easiest to check is whether your prop is slipping on its threaded shaft? (if so, the prop's hub has stripped threads.) Second would be is the motor's pinion gear fully engaged with the spur gear on the reduction box? You will have to take your fuselage halves apart to troubleshoot. No big deal, just cut through the tape with a razor blade or Xacto knife. When you are done simply put new Scotch tape over the old.

Dick
Dick Adams is offline Find More Posts by Dick Adams
Last edited by Dick Adams; Sep 20, 2014 at 04:34 PM.
Old Sep 20, 2014, 05:52 PM
Joined Sep 2014
3 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdl View Post
a video would help.

do you mean it has a spurt of power and then stops even though you have the throttle up? this is on a fully charged battery?

also, how long are your typical flights?
No not on a fully charged. I fly it for some time and then it starts acting up. I usually fly it for about 10-15 mins.
Old Sep 20, 2014, 07:37 PM
Joined Sep 2014
3 Posts
Quote: