Old Jul 23, 2016, 04:24 PM
Find More Posts by Vortexhunter10
Joined Jul 2016
3 Posts
Help!
New into Drones

Hi my name is Kade Illian and I am an amateur storm chaser. As the FAA has recently formed a waiver allowing someone to bypass certain regulations, my interest in drones have peaked. I am new into RC planes and drones and have a lot of questions.
First off, I would like to be able to operate my drone from my car as my chase partner drives. Once I am up and flying into the t-storm, I hope to capture video and a couple of pictures while in the air. This plane will be decked with meteorological equipment that allows me to obtain some data that has never been obtained before, well in a cheap consistent way. Here are a few concerns I have.
1. The winds associated with these storms will rip the plane to shreds. With sustained wind speeds of over 70 knots at times and much higher gusts, this drone will have to be extremely aerodynamic and durable.

2. If the drone goes down, so does all of the equipment. My guess is that this drone will not be even remotely cheap, so I have to make sure that the equipment is protected and that the drone itself does not go down.

3. Range. This may not be so much of an issue, but I will need a good 30 mile range. I can obviously settle for less, but I have seen the product Dragon Link and am highly interested in that. I am also a ham radio operator so I can operate on a wide range of bands.

4. Power. The plane has to be capable of maybe around an hour flight.
I have never heard of a RC plane with these types of capabilities, especially regarding wind. I would be open to trying to build my own drone, but with extremely little experience, this would probably not end well. Cost is not to much of a factor, anything below $5000 is ideal, still a high goal though. What do you think? Would this ever work? Thank you!
Vortexhunter10 is offline Find More Posts by Vortexhunter10
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 23, 2016, 04:31 PM