Old Apr 27, 2015, 01:02 PM
Find More Posts by Brian Koester
Blue Stick's Dad
Westchester, Ca
Joined May 2003
1,018 Posts
Discussion
Controlling a hovercraft without a rudder

I bought this 1978 free flight hovercraft on ebay. I'm going to convert old 049 engine to 300 class motor and make it free flight again. But then I started thinking that the fake engine pods could house real motors and maybe be used for steering. I found a 28mm EDF motor/fan that would fit perfectly in them from eflite. So I know I can fit all three motors in the hovercraft. The thing is I have no experience with setting up a receiver to control three motors. One motor on throttle to control altitude and two motors set up on rudder or aileron to control steering by turning on only one of the two motors. It would be a slow turn maybe but at least it would be something and it wouldn't require any noticeable mods to the exterior. BTW I'm knowingly passing on mounting a prop with rudder behind like a swamp boat because again that would ruin the look. Quad copters do this multi-motor thing so I was wondering if my problem is easy or hard to solve?
Brian Koester is offline Find More Posts by Brian Koester
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 27, 2015, 01:45 PM
Find More Posts by slipstick
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
11,639 Posts
What you're talking about is steering with "differential thrust" and it's been used quite a bit in all sorts of craft including hovercraft (that's how the little AeroAce toy planes steer).

It's easy enough to do if your transmitter has the mixing capabilities required. Most modern TXs with 6 or more channels can probably manage it. Not that you need all the channels, it's just that TXs with less channels usually have no controllable mixes. You want mixing so that you can control the forward speed as well as the direction.

Steve
slipstick is offline Find More Posts by slipstick
Old May 05, 2015, 11:44 AM
Find More Posts by Rusty Mustard
Die DX8, DIE!
Joined Feb 2013