New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Apr 21, 2015, 01:15 PM
VF-Alpha is offline
Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Fly Hard or Fly Home!!!
VF-Alpha's Avatar
United States, CA, West Sacramento
Joined Jul 2007
782 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agades View Post
Original one is necessary? There are a lot of $2 clones around...
I wouldn't say it's necessary, but would you trust a cheap copy in your plane that may fail randomly ? its 9.95 for an arduino pro mini from sparkfun.
images show how it's attached.
VF-Alpha is offline Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 21, 2015, 01:29 PM
Agades is offline
Find More Posts by Agades
Registered User
Joined Mar 2015
14 Posts
Arduino Pro Mini 328 - 3.3V/8MHz - from SPARKFUN
Is it OK?
I can't program. Will looking for guides how to get it working
Thanks VF-Alpha!
Agades is offline Find More Posts by Agades
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 01:37 PM
VF-Alpha is offline
Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Fly Hard or Fly Home!!!
VF-Alpha's Avatar
United States, CA, West Sacramento
Joined Jul 2007
782 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agades View Post
Arduino Pro Mini 328 - 3.3V/8MHz - from SPARKFUN
Is it OK?
I can't program. Will looking for guides how to get it working
Thanks VF-Alpha!
there isn't a need for you to be able to program. All you have to do is flash the code onto the the arduino. The code is already done. The xlator is just a thinned down arduino pro mini with the minimal amount of connections required to do it's job.
this is the page for using the FY-30A IMU the code is there, you just download and flash it to the pro mini and it should work fine

http://www.forum.tsebi.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=218
VF-Alpha is offline Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 01:44 PM
Agades is offline
Find More Posts by Agades
Registered User
Joined Mar 2015
14 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by VF-Alpha View Post
there isn't a need for you to be able to program. All you have to do is flash the code onto the the arduino. The code is already done. The xlator is just a thinned down arduino pro mini with the minimal amount of connections required to do it's job.
this is the page for using the FY-30A IMU the code is there, you just download and flash it to the pro mini and it should work fine

http://www.forum.tsebi.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=218
Wow, that's nice! THANK YOU!
Agades is offline Find More Posts by Agades
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 02:15 PM
VF-Alpha is offline
Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Fly Hard or Fly Home!!!
VF-Alpha's Avatar
United States, CA, West Sacramento
Joined Jul 2007
782 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Agades View Post
Wow, that's nice! THANK YOU!
No problem. that site I linked to has a lot of information that came in handy for me.
VF-Alpha is offline Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 02:42 PM
MikeTheCrash is online now
Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Just clumsy. Oh, forgetful too
MikeTheCrash's Avatar
undefined
Joined Jun 2008
3,795 Posts
can't remember if the code has it on, but a delay of a few seconds is required or it will be unreliable - I think this is the problem some Xlator users had.

Insert the delay line around line 74 in the code like this:

slave_setup();

Serial.println("FY-30A AHI for DOSD V2+ by 'gytiswb' (www.rcdreams.lt) v1.0\r\n");
delay (4000);
Wire.begin();


Also we have had experience with timing issues - seems some of the boards have different timing?. If you open the serial monitor and get nothing or gobbledegook then you probably need to change the Baud rate in the code and load it up again.
MikeTheCrash is online now Find More Posts by MikeTheCrash
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 02:55 PM
Agades is offline
Find More Posts by Agades
Registered User
Joined Mar 2015
14 Posts
Yes, I've heard about that, but wasn't sure.
Thank you!
Agades is offline Find More Posts by Agades
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 03:03 PM
VF-Alpha is offline
Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Fly Hard or Fly Home!!!
VF-Alpha's Avatar
United States, CA, West Sacramento
Joined Jul 2007
782 Posts
The delay is included in already. so it should just work. good catch mike. I was contemplating building some xlators with voltage regulators on board but there isn't much a demand for them.
VF-Alpha is offline Find More Posts by VF-Alpha
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 2015, 03:57 PM
Agades is offline
Find More Posts by Agades
Registered User
Joined Mar 2015
14 Posts
Fairly clear for me now.
Agades is offline Find More Posts by Agades
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 08:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 11:56 AM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 05:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 12:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 05:13 AM