HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:39 PM
Obeying the law of gravity
Canada, ON, Cambridge
Joined Jul 2011
494 Posts
Discussion
First true scratch build: thruxton jackaroo. And a couple Q's

So, first off this will be my first true scratch build, meaning no plans, etc. I have built two balsa free flight models models from kits and I want to try my hand at a total scratchbuild. So, I was trying to think of a plane to build, and I thought of the first plane I ever flew in, and that was a thruxton jackaroo. This was at the Guelph airport with the tiger boys. Anyway, I want to build it as a display model, so maybe a 20"-30" wingspan. Something that will hang from my bedroom ceiling well. I have a few questions.

1. Are there any important tips that I should know for a first scratchbuild? I have some balsa building experience, but only with precut kits.

2. Do you know where I could aquire a 3-view drawing of one? Would Google images be my best bet?

3. How do I determine the thickness of balsa I would use for the wing ribs, longerons, etc.

4. What is the best covering method for this ( tissue paper and paint or something like monokote?)
Jeremy Kamutzki is offline Find More Posts by Jeremy Kamutzki
Last edited by Jeremy Kamutzki; Nov 21, 2012 at 09:00 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 21, 2012, 09:03 PM
Canada, ON, Cambridge
Joined Jul 2011
494 Posts
here's a 3-view. any better ones? http://www.doc8643.com/aircrafts/view/JARO
Old Nov 22, 2012, 06:54 AM
Joined Jan 2009
1,310 Posts
IIRC, there was an artcle with detailed scale drawings in Scale Models or Aeromodeller (at the time both published by Model Allied Press) of the 70's or 80's. Also, IIRC, an outfit called Nexis may still list them online. Google: MAP Scale drawings.

I had them clipped and stashed in my collection of "someday" build materials but a few years back I gave them away.