HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 02, 2012, 11:33 AM
United States, WA, Shelton
Joined Feb 2012
624 Posts
Question
Glassing wings

This is a total newby question. I have been wanting to start glassing my models. I have read many, many forums and looked at alot of videos but what I cannot figure out is how do you finish the TE and LE on wings or control surfaces when you glass them? When you cover the top of the wing I see that you leave a small overhang of glass around the perimeter while it sets, then do the bottom the same way. How do you blend the top and bottom glass layers together around the edges??? I am obviously missing something here.
Lt599 is online now Find More Posts by Lt599
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 02, 2012, 11:48 AM
Just fly it!
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...light=glass+le
wyowindworks is offline Find More Posts by wyowindworks
Old Oct 02, 2012, 12:20 PM
United States, WA, Shelton
Joined Feb 2012
624 Posts
I read your reply on my other thread, I havent had a chance to try it yet. What got me to ask again is that after looking at several builds I never seen that part of the process? So I thought that there may be a way to blend the top and bottom glass at the edges, especially on thin wings, without having to lay glass around the edges first. I am getting ready to glass a foam core, balsa covered wing for an A10. I am going to use the method you describe for these, but I am trying to figure out what people are doing on these other builds where I do not see any edges being covered first? Thank you, I appreciate all the input
Lt599 is online now Find More Posts by Lt599
Old Oct 02, 2012, 01:03 PM
Just fly it!
Cody, WY
Joined Nov 2007
6,915 Posts
If the glass is light you can often wrap it around larger leading edges and forgo the spray adhesive technique. If the TE is rather sharp you can just let the top and bottom layer come together at the TE.