New Products Flash Sale
Old May 21, 2015, 08:55 AM
Find More Posts by Majortomski
dusty bible = dirty life
Oklahoma City OK USA Where fakts still exist even if they are ignored
Joined Aug 2000
2,810 Posts
Discussion
OK friends why do we free wheel our propellers?

First off please be aware that I am an aero engineer and a multi engine pilot. From that I understand that that we 'feather' propellers on multi engine airplanes to minimize the huge drag penalty caused by the wind milling propeller on a dead engine. I've even been told by full scale instructors if you have an engine failure in a single engine plane, if you have enough altitude and time, try to slow the plane till the prop stops wind milling so there wil be less drag.

That being said, why do we work so hard in free flight to MAKE the prop windmill when the rubber winds run out?

Seems it would be more efficient to let the prop eventually stop by spinning the rubber backwards till the air load and the turns balance out.

Then again a 'perfect' rubber flight is where the rubber wind run out as the plane touches down. So it should never have a windmilling prop to begin with.

Your thoughts please.
Majortomski is offline Find More Posts by Majortomski
to remove ads between posts
Old May 21, 2015, 09:48 AM
Find More Posts by bogbeagle
Joined Mar 2007
1,305 Posts
"if you have an engine failure in a single engine plane, if you have enough altitude and time, try to slow the plane till the prop stops wind milling so there will be less drag."

I've done this ... deliberately ... on a number of occasions.

It works. The drag reduction is very noticeable, as evidenced by the reduced rate of descent. You may have to bring back the speed to the stall, to get the prop to stop turning, though.
bogbeagle is offline Find More Posts by bogbeagle
Old May 21, 2015, 10:21 AM
Find More Posts by BMatthews
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
12,348 Posts