HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 06, 2005, 04:03 AM
Pretoria, South Africa
Joined Mar 2004
574 Posts
Rave
Poly Sergio Assembly

Hi guys I thought I'd get a thread going on these as all my searches did not reveal too much information on the plane. I've always been searching for a more affordable F5J competitive sailplane and I think this one might be able to get my on my feet. Of course my good friend Flyingdogtwo has been a great inspiration and motivated me through endless hours of chatter. I'm sure at some points he got frustrated with me but fact is my funding is very limited in this hobby and I had to save up a bit to make this one a reality. I am a full on 3D pilot so excuse my uneducated mind when it comes to gliders. I have some experience in thermal soaring as I've been putting my Electra ARF through crazy hours of thermal hunting and I have quite a bunch of hours logged on the slope with foam delta wings but that's about as far as it goes.

As you might notice I am from South Africa so some hints given regarding materials to use etc might not be possible as we do not have access to the stuff here but still I would appreciate input/hints from everyone! So chime in please if you have a thought to share!

Also then I want to give a big thanks to Kurt from Niagara Frontier Models ( www.nfmodels.com ) for all hes help and patience to get the plane to me. It was a long and straining process but Kurt's customer service is absolutely top notch and he stuck with me to help me out. He made a fan out of me!

Right lets get going!
spacey is offline Find More Posts by spacey
to remove ads between posts
Old May 06, 2005, 04:09 AM
Pretoria, South Africa
Joined Mar 2004
574 Posts
Here is the specs of the plane and basically everything I will be using in the model for those of you interested. I will be using it for Speed 400 class competition so I got the motor/gb/prop combo from Kurt as well.

Wing Span- 86.6 (2200 mm)
Length-38.1in. (970 mm)