HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Apr 24, 2012, 12:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
very cool build Marc!
Have to say so many things changes atm, ahrd to keep up.
Atm we experiment with a gimbal.
Throw a quickly edited video on the web
Its the frist outdoorflight, only thing we did was ballacing the propellers, no magic vib dampenig or something.
May a bit insane config, but we wanted to know.
The hex is very well, very stable, thank you Alex.
http://vimeo.com/40900015
Hi Paul,

nice and stable one!

aBUGSworstnightmare
aBUGSnightmare is offline Find More Posts by aBUGSnightmare
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 24, 2012, 12:12 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,316 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goofy23 View Post
Atm we experiment with a gimbal.
Nice one, Paul!
Did you fly the bird yourself?

And what about some detailed specs of your setup, pics of the gimbal and such?
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 04:35 PM
Registered User
Winterswijk, Netherlands
Joined Jun 2007
133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc von DEE View Post
Hello l'm new here,

i finished the build yesterday by late afternoon (2 AM this morning...), but i´ve still got issues with the board: 4 of the motors aren´t running (directly at the ESC: no problem)
Did you try lowering mincommand ?

/* this is the value for the ESCs when they are not armed
in some cases, this value must be lowered down to 900 for some specific ESCs */
#define MINCOMMAND 900

I switched the controller on my quad from a 328 to a Flyduino mega, and with the Mega, the motors started beeping, and couldn't be started.
After lowering the mincommand, all was OK again....

Strange.... this was not nescessary when using the 328.... Seems like there is a difference in timing between the various processors....
The same mega on another copter before did not require the mincommand to be lowered (and had similar ESC's....)

Anyway, you might give it a try...
wilco1967 is offline Find More Posts by wilco1967
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 06:36 PM
Stuttgart, BW, Germany
marc von DEE's Avatar
Germany, BW, Durlangen
Joined Apr 2012
6 Posts
hello again,

thanks folks.
@x4FF3:
i´ve got the V 2.0 downloaded last night, and still playing whit it this evening.

7 of 8 motors are fixed, but i´m optimistic

here the changes to the file:

Octo
MultiWii_dev_20120414

config.h // (120424 mvd)


#define OCTOFLATX // (120424 mvd)
//#define INTERNAL_I2C_PULLUPS // (120424 mvd)
#define A0_A1_PIN_HEX // (120424 mvd)
#define ITG3200 // (120424 mvd)
#define BMA020 // (120424 mvd)
//#define SPEKTRUM 1024 // (120424 mvd) uncheck check uncheck check, never runs yet
#define MINCOMMAND 1000 // (120424 mvd) lowering 1000 -> 900 , A2 A1 dead A0 beeping , back at 1000 A2 A1 are running and A0 is beeping for a while than runs but couldn´t be disarmed


@aBUGSnightmare:
can i connect a gimbal at the A0 A1 A2 pins if i use a spektum sat, and witch output pins can be used for the three motors?

@wilco1967:
i suppose i must try different MINCOMMAND , and possibly playing whith MINTHROTTLE; Paul mailed me as i purchased the ESC, he wasn´t sure those where compatible to the motors

cu, Marc
marc von DEE is offline Find More Posts by marc von DEE
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2012, 07:57 PM
Registered User
Goofy23's Avatar
Hamburg, Germany
Joined Jan 2011
1,075 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Nice one, Paul!
Did you fly the bird yourself?

And what about some detailed specs of your setup, pics of the gimbal and such?
yes most is flown by me, but still not good in this, cant say if my colleague is better, he flew also some parts.
Would say we are both not good

Setup is a bit insane
Tiger 2208 at 3s, but it worked, worked well, cant complain.
FCP, 25cm arms, Tiger 10A ESCs.
8" regular Propellers, BALLANCED!
May 10" Hex config is better , we have to try out, when we find a minute.
We want to try a lot, but we dont find time for it.
Most important ballance the propellers when you lift a cam!

This Fludumini related Video i got today:
cool, thought our markus is flying but it was neal
Flydumini No.2 T-Motor 3100kv testing (5 min 40 sec)
Goofy23 is offline Find More Posts by Goofy23
Last edited by Goofy23; Apr 25, 2012 at 12:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 12:42 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc von DEE View Post
hello again,

thanks folks.
@x4FF3:
i´ve got the V 2.0 downloaded last night, and still playing whit it this evening.

7 of 8 motors are fixed, but i´m optimistic

here the changes to the file:

Octo
MultiWii_dev_20120414

config.h // (120424 mvd)


#define OCTOFLATX // (120424 mvd)
//#define INTERNAL_I2C_PULLUPS // (120424 mvd)
#define A0_A1_PIN_HEX // (120424 mvd)
#define ITG3200 // (120424 mvd)
#define BMA020 // (120424 mvd)
//#define SPEKTRUM 1024 // (120424 mvd) uncheck check uncheck check, never runs yet
#define MINCOMMAND 1000 // (120424 mvd) lowering 1000 -> 900 , A2 A1 dead A0 beeping , back at 1000 A2 A1 are running and A0 is beeping for a while than runs but couldn´t be disarmed


@aBUGSnightmare:
can i connect a gimbal at the A0 A1 A2 pins if i use a spektum sat, and witch output pins can be used for the three motors?

@wilco1967:
i suppose i must try different MINCOMMAND , and possibly playing whith MINTHROTTLE; Paul mailed me as i purchased the ESC, he wasn´t sure those where compatible to the motors

cu, Marc
Hi Marc,

I'm sorry, but there's no gimbal on a promini in OCTO (FLAT X, FLAT +, X8) config; neither with PPM nor with Spektrum sat! It's a limitation of the pro micro hardware!

Well, don't think that it will take that long to have it fixed: the microWii (based on the ATMEGA32U4, MPU-6050, HMC5883L, MS5611-01BA01)) will allow OCTO + Gimbal configuration with high speed/high resolution PWMs. There also a Spektrum Sat connector on the bottom of the PCB.
Test were still in progress but I think the board will be available soon in Paul's shop (www.flyduino.net).



Rgds
aBUGSworstnightmare
aBUGSnightmare is offline Find More Posts by aBUGSnightmare
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 01:25 AM
Able to learn fly
Deutschland, BY, München
Joined Aug 2011
33 Posts
I've got a problem with the pitch / roll stabilisation for the gimbal. I'm using Dymond micro servos with an external 6V supply directly to the two servos. When I move the copter the movements of the gimbal is very bad, not realy smooth, more like the hand of an old grandma. Is there a option to smoothen up the servo travel?
Galumbo is online now Find More Posts by Galumbo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 03:54 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,316 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aBUGSnightmare View Post



Rgds
aBUGSworstnightmare
Aha!
That's what you guys are at. Looks great - and small, what's the size?
Any more info on ETA & price?
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 03:55 AM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,316 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galumbo View Post
I've got a problem with the pitch / roll stabilisation for the gimbal. I'm using Dymond micro servos with an external 6V supply directly to the two servos. When I move the copter the movements of the gimbal is very bad, not realy smooth, more like the hand of an old grandma. Is there a option to smoothen up the servo travel?
Your micros might be too weak for the job - especially when you add the weight of a cam.
Which servos are you using exactly?
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 04:27 AM
Able to learn fly
Deutschland, BY, München
Joined Aug 2011
33 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Your micros might be too weak for the job - especially when you add the weight of a cam.
Which servos are you using exactly?
I use this one : http://www.modellhobby.de/Elektronik...&t=9&c=75&p=75

I don't think they are to weak because at the moment I plug in the Lipo they move a second very fast. At this movement they work like a good oiled gear without quake. I think there is a problem with the resolution of the servo travel or with the data the servo will get from the fc. But that is only my opinion.
Galumbo is online now Find More Posts by Galumbo
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 05:15 AM
RTFM // copter damaged
warthox's Avatar
Joined Aug 2009
1,726 Posts
flights with promicro and mpu6050 from flyduino.

mwc quad // promicro + mpu6050 (2 min 44 sec)



same quad but onboard
entertainment tip: hear a nice soundtrack while watching the video

mwc quad // promicro + mpu6050 onboard (2 min 57 sec)
warthox is offline Find More Posts by warthox
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 09:42 AM
location: Almeria Spain
melilla's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
27 Posts
FreeImu v.04r3

hello I have a question, I have a mega flyduino 2560, with FreeImu v0.4r3.
I have to activate the code multiwii 2.0,
# Define FREEIMUv043, or # define FREEIMUv04.
Or both
melilla is offline Find More Posts by melilla
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 02:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2011
188 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Aha!
That's what you guys are at. Looks great - and small, what's the size?
Any more info on ETA & price?
Hi kinderkram,

the board is working Still need to conduct some tests related to the boot loader but it looks I will be able to give a 'go' for series production this week.
The size is 50x50mm (the square body) + 'hamster cheeks' (used to mount vibration dampeners) --> around 59mmx59mm in total.

Most of the components were already in place at the EMS --> shouldn't take to long to have the first batch here.

Price is up to Paul!

aBUGSworstnightmare
aBUGSnightmare is offline Find More Posts by aBUGSnightmare
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 03:11 PM
Registered User
mgros's Avatar
España, Aragón, Zaragoza
Joined Dec 2006
184 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by melilla View Post
hello I have a question, I have a mega flyduino 2560, with FreeImu v0.4r3.
I have to activate the code multiwii 2.0,
# Define FREEIMUv043, or # define FREEIMUv04.
Or both
Only
# Define FREEIMUv043
flyduino + FREEIMU fly fantastic.
mgros is offline Find More Posts by mgros
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2012, 03:41 PM
location: Almeria Spain
melilla's Avatar
Joined Feb 2011
27 Posts
mgros thank you very much
melilla is offline Find More Posts by melilla
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Please let me introduce myself jimaquo Dock Talk 7 Oct 27, 2010 03:27 AM
Let me introduce the DEMON!!!! (Transparent covering and eliptical wing!!!) modest-master Sport Planes 7 Aug 26, 2002 12:46 AM
Let me introduce Angelis 280/400, Benjamin, Zombi (ARFs) modest-master Parkflyers 17 Mar 14, 2002 02:20 PM
Let me introduce the "NIKE" modest-master Electric Sailplanes 3 Mar 07, 2002 06:20 AM