HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 06, 2012, 07:05 AM
Registered User
BlazerB52's Avatar
Fenton,MO USA
Joined Aug 2005
1,272 Posts
Help!
Replacing capacitors on ESC

Have a Superbrain 100A ESC and while setting up with a mercury 90mm 1900kv ducted fan, while at 1/2 throttle a capacitor started to smoke a little. My question is do I need to de-solder that capacitor and replace it or can I put a Castle capacitor bank as close as I can to affected capacitor.

Blazer
BlazerB52 is offline Find More Posts by BlazerB52
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 06, 2012, 11:34 AM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Nov 2000
7,068 Posts
Replace it.. Note + - orientations and buy of a voltage rating significantly higher than your battery packs. Likely your experienced problem.
Electrolytic capacitors in these sizes are inexpensive. If a double cap setup you can buy a decent quality one that is equal to the 2 existing uF's or buy 2 similar ones.. but do replace both.
Best quality ones.. typically Not fitted to esc's , can be up to a whole $2 to buy.. retail.
Bare is offline Find More Posts by Bare
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 02:00 PM
Registered User
BlazerB52's Avatar
Fenton,MO USA
Joined Aug 2005
1,272 Posts
Thanks, i took a good look at the caps. There was a short on one of the legs of the cap. It had a insulator sleeve next to it that was smoking when it heated up. I cut those caps off and will replace all four of them. I have 8 of the 50V, 330uF caps. would they be okay? And can't remember off the top of my head which is negative the long or short lead. Also soldered on a Castle Creations. cap pack also.

Blazer
BlazerB52 is offline Find More Posts by BlazerB52
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 08:54 PM
Registered User
Canada
Joined Nov 2000
7,068 Posts
Most Any polarized Capacitor has a wide stripe on it's casing identifying Negative wire. No stripe means a non ploarised cap a poor choice imo.
If 50 volts is less than your Bat packs.. then that part should be fine, 330 might be enough uF if there are 4 of the rascals. Why? would you add an additional Cap array. More could cause 'filling up the caps' inrush current issues.
Sometimes More ain't better.. it's just more.
One can buy smallish caps of Large uF values if that's what you think is necessary.
Bare is offline Find More Posts by Bare
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 06, 2012, 11:33 PM
Registered User
BlazerB52's Avatar
Fenton,MO USA
Joined Aug 2005
1,272 Posts
Thanks Bare. Could I just keep the Castle cap pack on and not even fool with soldering the four caps on the board?

Blazer
BlazerB52 is offline Find More Posts by BlazerB52
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2012, 11:34 AM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
The Netherlands, GE, Nijmegen
Joined Feb 2001
10,790 Posts
Anything that has smoked will live considerably less longer, replace it.

About installing capacitors, type and make:
Too long battery wires will kill ESC over time - RCG

Vriendelijke groeten Ron
Ron van Sommeren is offline Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07, 2012, 08:27 PM
Registered User
BlazerB52's Avatar
Fenton,MO USA
Joined Aug 2005
1,272 Posts
Thanks Ron.
BlazerB52 is offline Find More Posts by BlazerB52
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Capacitor question on the ESC? Cas141 Power Systems 4 Sep 19, 2012 09:55 AM
Discussion Replacing ESC capacitors scorpion1 Racing Boats - Electric 100 Jan 30, 2011 05:17 PM
Question Burned capacitor on esc, where can I get replacement Knife Liddle Power Systems 11 Jan 23, 2007 12:50 PM
Replacement capacitors on Schulze ESC winchdoc Power Systems 3 Jun 01, 2004 01:31 PM
Replacing Capacitors on AF 05 twinster2 Power Systems 2 May 31, 2003 10:45 PM