UK
Joined Sep 2008
653 Posts
Discussion
Goat Island Skiff build

Hey guys,
My uncle has just built the full scale version of this boat from plans:
http://www.storerboatplans.com/GIS/GISplan.html
And I would rather like to make a 1/6th or 1/8th (depending on storage, sail size etc) version of it to sail as radio control.

I'm no beginner to building from plans/scratch and have many aircraft and a couple of other boats under my belt, but in those cases they've always been intended for rc in the first place, so materials and thicknesses are all appropriate etc

So my first question is, what thickness/type of wood should I go for? Would a ply frame with balsa skins be sufficient?

Second question is, what control mechanism would I need to use? is it just a case of rudder and a winch or strong servo to move the sail from one side to the other? (I have never sailed an rc boat and have only very little experience with real sailing)

Third question is, would I need to add a keel of some sort?

and lastly, how frowned upon would it be to put some sort of small motor and prop in it (concealed somewhere under a seat/ 'luggage' etc) for if (when ) I get stuck?

Sorry for all the questions, and thankyou in advance
Looking forward to this build!
James
-james- is online now Find More Posts by -james-
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 07, 2013, 09:36 PM
United States, CA, Riverside
Joined Apr 2010
219 Posts
James,
You will get a lot if differing opinions, but here are mine.
Balsa would be fine, 1/16" if covered in fiberglass. I would probably build it in 1/16" ply.
Rudder and winch is all you need. At 1/6 scale the sails will be about 400 sq. in. if I am doing my math right. Futaba and HiTec both have good, inexpensive sail servos that wold work fine.
Yes you will need a keel. Look at the RG65 sites for ideas, I would think something along those lines would work fine.