HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:01 PM
Joined Sep 2011
12 Posts
Discussion
Another newbie asking advice for first plane

Hi all

I have a RC truck and now got the chance to fly my buddies nine eagles skyrunner trainer. I loved it and now obviousily I need to get one myself =)

I'm really new to planes so Im looking for a fairly cheap, durable and easy enough packet as a first training rc plane. Could you pros help me out on what model to get from eg. hobbyking ?

The skyrunner is OK as it has the rotor on top so I wont have to replace it every time I (crash)land. I would like a bit more power and all 4 channels.

I was looking at this model from HB - any comments ?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ft_Radio_.html

Any comments or recommendations would be most appreciated - thanks!
mtlman is offline Find More Posts by mtlman
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:24 PM
Canada, BC, Port Coquitlam
Joined Apr 2012
1,048 Posts
That bixler should be fine. I will not be impressed by their video, though. They showed a total newb effortlessly fly the bixler....not likely unless he'd done some simulator time

Having had stick time on your friend's trainer, you should be ok with that bixler, IMHO. Just have your friend beside you for maybe a dozen flights, to take over, just in case. Beginners will always get into trouble. I found that trainers of this type are somewhat stable but not as good at self stabilizing as say a high winger with lots of dihedral, like a HobbyZoneSupercub. So you have to apply a touch of counter aileron after completing a turn to return the wings to level.
easyrider604 is online now Find More Posts by easyrider604
Old Dec 30, 2012, 02:38 PM
Joined Dec 2012
33 Posts
by the way is the motor for th sky runner ment to be mounted at an angle because on mine it is and i dont know wether it is bad manufacturing or designed like that ,does anybody know?
luka.v is offline Find More Posts by luka.v