New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 28, 2013, 11:26 PM
nancy1987 is offline
Find More Posts by nancy1987
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
329 Posts
Discussion
ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal

ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-axis brushless gimbal is specially designed for heavy load multirotor aircrafts, such as ARRIS M680 and above level. It is made by carbon fiber material, having structure of high structural strength and light weight. It is compatible with most CCHD and micro DSLR in the market. The specially designed metal block features super high integration, all the wires coming from the top of this metal block, which makes the yaw and tilt axis be capable of rotation in unlimited 360 degrees and 45 degrees rotation on roll axis, besides, we use the world`s top hanging-ball method to reduce vibration of the gimbal, 16 damper balls could effectively prevent the gimabl falling off from the aircrafts, no longer to worry about the camera damage after a crash, besides, we also include a carbon fiber frame, it is just like a double insurance to protect the camera.

This ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-axis brushless gimbal must make the strongest possible impact to the aerial photography field in the following a few months.









ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal for Sony NEX5/NEX7 Canon EOS-M (3 min 4 sec)


ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-axis brushless gimbal (2013-10-29 update)

ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal (5 min 11 sec)


http://www.hobby-wing.com/arris-zhao...ss-gimbal.html

Might be available for sale on about 2013-11-20.
nancy1987 is offline Find More Posts by nancy1987
Last edited by nancy1987; Nov 21, 2013 at 12:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 04, 2013, 01:33 AM
katman1260 is offline
Find More Posts by katman1260
Registered User
Joined Aug 2013
478 Posts
What is the A/V output? Does this gimbal transmit 1080p or 1080i ? The DJI Z15 only transmits 1080i which is a negative. If I can record and view 1080p while flying, this will be of benefit.

What is its weight, and what other cameras does it support?

I see in your comparison footage with the Z15 that your Zhaoyun does not have as good a picture quality. I am guessing this is due to your integrated transmission system? The Z15 has a much sharper image.
katman1260 is offline Find More Posts by katman1260
Last edited by katman1260; Nov 04, 2013 at 01:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2013, 03:45 AM
nancy1987 is offline
Find More Posts by nancy1987
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
329 Posts
ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-axis brushless gimbal (2013-10-29 update)

ARRIS ZHAOYUN 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal (5 min 11 sec)
nancy1987 is offline Find More Posts by nancy1987
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2013, 03:55 AM
nancy1987 is offline
Find More Posts by nancy1987
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
329 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by katman1260 View Post
What is the A/V output? Does this gimbal transmit 1080p or 1080i ? The DJI Z15 only transmits 1080i which is a negative. If I can record and view 1080p while flying, this will be of benefit.

What is its weight, and what other cameras does it support?

I see in your comparison footage with the Z15 that your Zhaoyun does not have as good a picture quality. I am guessing this is due to your integrated transmission system? The Z15 has a much sharper image.
THe 1080p or 1080i is only related to your camera.This brushless gimbal is about 800g, and it supports NEX5, NEX7 and EOS-M for now for sure, as for other cameras, we havn`t have time to try it.

Zhaoyun is only a brushless gimbal which is used to stabilze the footage of camera, so it has nothing to do with the picture quality.
nancy1987 is offline Find More Posts by nancy1987
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2013, 01:21 PM
katman1260 is offline
Find More Posts by katman1260
Registered User
Joined Aug 2013
478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nancy1987 View Post
THe 1080p or 1080i is only related to your camera.This brushless gimbal is about 800g, and it supports NEX5, NEX7 and EOS-M for now for sure, as for other cameras, we havn`t have time to try it.

Zhaoyun is only a brushless gimbal which is used to stabilze the footage of camera, so it has nothing to do with the picture quality.
I understand that. The DJI Z15 only outputs 1080i with the Nex7. Their converter only works with 1080i. The Nex 7 will record in 1080p but the DJI gimbal will not convert 1080p to video signal for the transmitter.

Did I not read that this has a built in transmitter?
katman1260 is offline Find More Posts by katman1260
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2013, 01:27 PM
Alekoy is offline
Find More Posts by Alekoy
Registered User
Norway, Møre og Romsdal, Sula
Joined Dec 2009
144 Posts
Your videolink does not transfer 1080i or p anyway. there are no practically usable VTX system that can transfer HD.
Alekoy is offline Find More Posts by Alekoy
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 04, 2013, 01:36 PM
katman1260 is offline
Find More Posts by katman1260
Registered User
Joined Aug 2013
478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alekoy View Post
Your videolink does not transfer 1080i or p anyway. there are no practically usable VTX system that can transfer HD.
I didn't say it transferred HD. The Z15 only converts camera ouput if it is in 1080i recording mode. For FPV recording, I don't need HD, just a picture so I know what I am recording. There is a VTX hd system with little latency but I am not needing that. Just need to see what the camera is recording.

Their quote: "the A/V transsmission function integrated, you cann`t imagine how magic it is!"

I am trying to find out what the magic is and what the "integrated transmission" specs are. With the Nex 7 in 1080p mode, there is no picture so I cannot record in 1080p unless I fly blind.
katman1260 is offline Find More Posts by katman1260
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2013, 06:56 PM
remvideo is offline
Find More Posts by remvideo
bacon and eggs
remvideo's Avatar
United States, FL, West Palm Beach
Joined May 2013
1,104 Posts
what the hell
remvideo is offline Find More Posts by remvideo
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2013, 09:18 PM
nancy1987 is offline
Find More Posts by nancy1987
Registered User
Joined Apr 2013
329 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by katman1260 View Post
I didn't say it transferred HD. The Z15 only converts camera ouput if it is in 1080i recording mode. For FPV recording, I don't need HD, just a picture so I know what I am recording. There is a VTX hd system with little latency but I am not needing that. Just need to see what the camera is recording.

Their quote: "the A/V transsmission function integrated, you cann`t imagine how magic it is!"

I am trying to find out what the magic is and what the "integrated transmission" specs are. With the Nex 7 in 1080p mode, there is no picture so I cannot record in 1080p unless I fly blind.
"the A/V transsmission function integrated" means there is an A/V wire reserved for FPV transmission function.
nancy1987 is offline Find More Posts by nancy1987
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2013, 10:22 PM
katman1260 is offline
Find More Posts by katman1260
Registered User
Joined Aug 2013
478 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by nancy1987 View Post
"the A/V transsmission function integrated" means there is an A/V wire reserved for FPV transmission function.
Ok, I understand that. Now, that means you are converting camera signal to A/V yes? What signal does the camera have to output?

As I have stated, the DJI has a similar "integrated transmission function" but it can only convert 1080i, not 1080p. There for, the camera has to be recording in 1080i to receive video downlink signal. Does your set up support 1080p conversion?

Thank you for your reply. I see there are several companies now using the Alexmos for 3 axis stabilization.
katman1260 is offline Find More Posts by katman1260
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2013, 12:39 AM
Aaalie is offline
Find More Posts by Aaalie
Registered User
Aaalie's Avatar
Netherlands
Joined May 2006
676 Posts
The HDMI to AV composite you have to install yourself, so you can choose what you want. F.i. the Canon EOS-M has his own AV composite output, you can connect the already installed AV wire directly to your EOS-M.
Aaalie is offline Find More Posts by Aaalie
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2013, 06:11 PM
Troiano27 is offline
Find More Posts by Troiano27
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
200 Posts
Will this gimbal support Blackmagc Pocket Cinema Camera?
Troiano27 is offline Find More Posts by Troiano27
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2013, 06:15 PM
chuenwe is offline
Find More Posts by chuenwe
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
United States, NY, Huntington Station
Joined May 2012
1,685 Posts
They tune each gimbal to the camera that you'll be using before they ship it to you. If they don't have that camera, they cannot do that for you. You would have to tune it yourself.
chuenwe is offline Find More Posts by chuenwe
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2013, 05:47 AM
dharmaone is offline
Find More Posts by dharmaone
Registered User
Joined Aug 2013
17 Posts
The footage looks nice, pretty close to zenmuse. Is this using alexmos or something else?

would a 3DR X8 be able to fly with this and a NEX/blackmagic pocket?

How does this compare to the DYS/RCtimer 3 axis gimbal?
dharmaone is offline Find More Posts by dharmaone
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2013, 07:48 AM
Sid3ways is offline
Find More Posts by Sid3ways
DJI Supporter
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,109 Posts
Any update on this gimbal? Original post shows projected in-stock date of today. This is the closest turn-key contender to the Z15/ZUAV gimbals. The full 360 rotation on the tilt and yaw is what I've been waiting forever for. The slip rings keep things tidy and I like the clean look to it.

If we can fit the BMPC into it, I will be a very happy camper!
Sid3ways is offline Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion .ARRIS CM3000 3-Axis Brushless Gimbal . nancy1987 Multirotor Talk 1334 Aug 29, 2015 03:47 PM
Discussion Brushless Gimbal for NEX/DSLR------ARRIS ZHAOYUN nancy1987 Multirotor Talk 0 Jun 13, 2013 12:39 AM