HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 03, 2009, 03:09 PM
Joined Jul 2009
697 Posts
Discussion
How do I know I won't puff a lipo?

I apologize in advance if there's a thread covering this. I searched and couldn't find exactly what I'm looking for.

I am relatively new to RC. I've got several EDF jets and a Wingtiger prop plane. They all came with stock 15C batteries. I upgraded the prop plane to a bigger motor and ESC, however I puffed every darn lipo. I was told the motor I chose was too strong for my system. I purchased a Watt Meter, however I don't know how to use it to know what C rating I need on my batteries so I won't be puffing them anymore.

I've read that getting a higher C rating battery for a stock EDFs will boost performance slightly and that the stock system will not overdraw more than what it can handle... Is that true?

I hooked up my Wattsup to an Art-Tech EDF F18 Hornet and got a max of 28amps on the stock 15C at WOT, and then tried a 25C and got 31Amps. The ESC this plane comes with is only rated for 30Amps max, and seeing a reading of 31Amps leads me to believe a higher C rating will allow for more amps than what's safe. Either that or the stock ESC on this plane is not capable of handling what this plane's stock motor can take. I don't want to burn up my ESC or motor in flight and crash.

Is there a threat that talks about what and how to calculate to be sure one is in safe operating limits?
AirChime is offline Find More Posts by AirChime
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 03, 2009, 03:36 PM
Registered Abuser
Joined Oct 2006
2,350 Posts
Here is how it works, I am sure someone else will add on though.

The larger motor sucks more amps than the battery can provide. ESC amp rating has nothing to do with the battery, just the motor. ESC wont suck 30 amps from a battery, but your motor will suck that 30 amps from the ESC which then sucks it from your battery. If your motor is drawing 30 amps from a 15 amp ESC, your ESC will insta-fry!