Thread Tools
Old Feb 05, 2016, 10:31 AM
tmulligan is online now
Find More Posts by tmulligan
Tommy Toy the Crazy Boy
United States, AR, Jonesboro
Joined Mar 2013
1,179 Posts
I fly mine without the canopy. It flew off one day during a reverse Cuban Eight. The battery and the canopy both flew out. The plane amazingly floated to the ground upside down with almost no damage on landing. I never found the canopy or the battery. I'm sure they're hiding in the woods somewhere. But, the plane still flies beautifully.
tmulligan is online now Find More Posts by tmulligan
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 05, 2016, 11:37 AM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
I was down for a bit after using my (1) battery on a big quad which crashed, just a few days ago I had the bright idea that I could snag a series connector and run 2x 3s 2700 60c together. It works great, kicking myself for taking so long to figure it out. Now I have at least two batteries to use, if my similar 3300 batteries aren't too heavy. I doubt they are. This will also bring my giant su47 back to life, along with my 6s parkzone habu. I just really didn't want to buy 6s batteries, they're not especially budget friendly.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2016, 05:02 PM
heli-headcase is offline
Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Multifaceted Heli Nut
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Oct 2004
1,688 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustySpork View Post
I was down for a bit after using my (1) battery on a big quad which crashed, just a few days ago I had the bright idea that I could snag a series connector and run 2x 3s 2700 60c together. It works great, kicking myself for taking so long to figure it out. Now I have at least two batteries to use, if my similar 3300 batteries aren't too heavy. I doubt they are. This will also bring my giant su47 back to life, along with my 6s parkzone habu. I just really didn't want to buy 6s batteries, they're not especially budget friendly.
As-shipped, my Spledors included a Y-harness allowing two 3S packs to be used as one 6S pack. You're expected to have those blue EC3 connectors on your batts for compatibility but it should have been in the box.
heli-headcase is offline Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2016, 05:20 PM
Alan W is offline
Find More Posts by Alan W
Registered User
Alan W's Avatar
NY
Joined May 2000
2,345 Posts
.. a lot of them shipped without it in the box despite it being advertised as included

Horizon did provide you one if you contacted them about the mistake
Alan W is offline Find More Posts by Alan W
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 05, 2016, 05:43 PM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by heli-headcase View Post
As-shipped, my Spledors included a Y-harness allowing two 3S packs to be used as one 6S pack. You're expected to have those blue EC3 connectors on your batts for compatibility but it should have been in the box.
If it did, it's still in the box, which is now in my attic. Oh well, I use xt60 anyway.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 06, 2016, 05:55 AM
smking0656 is offline
Find More Posts by smking0656
Registered User
United States, PA, Hamburg
Joined Aug 2008
74 Posts
I'm selling my Splendor this year because it fly's so good it was the only plane I flew last year. I have 8 other planes that I did not get out to fly. My son has one so I can still fly one if I want.
smking0656 is offline Find More Posts by smking0656
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 07, 2016, 04:02 PM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
Two great flights today. Love the power and stability. I've gotta turn down the gains on all three axes, it was very windy and I feel like the gyros were overcompensating.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2016, 10:03 PM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
Awhile ago I chunked my original prop while messing around in my driveway, and I ended up cutting about 3/8" off each end, balanced fine. I was wondering, if I upgrade the ESC (which I have, to a 100A) would it spin that smaller prop on 7s? I recorded a peak of 55 amps on 6s.

I'll probably do a quick bench test tomorrow and see what's up, unless anyone here knows a reason I shouldn't, such as the motor being incapable.

Mathematically, it's an increase of 16 2/3 % voltage. With the typical way eflite underrates their electronics, I think it'll be just fine.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2016, 10:27 PM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
Looks like the same motor is happily spinning a 15x5.5 prop in the carbon z cub. Inch bigger than ours stock, loses 1.5 deg of pitch. Similar, I'm sure. One way to find out, I guess.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2016, 02:23 PM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
Well, that kind of went down the drain. The idea is sound, I think, but I ended up having to cut the prop down further to around 10.25". Not really suitable at that point, but I went ahead and did it anyway. On a 7s with that prop, it pulls about 41 amps. I've got a few other props to try, but not today.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2016, 02:34 PM
heli-headcase is offline
Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Multifaceted Heli Nut
USA, GA, Atlanta
Joined Oct 2004
1,688 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustySpork View Post
Well, that kind of went down the drain. The idea is sound, I think, but I ended up having to cut the prop down further to around 10.25". Not really suitable at that point, but I went ahead and did it anyway. On a 7s with that prop, it pulls about 41 amps. I've got a few other props to try, but not today.
That's the best way to find out - try it and see
heli-headcase is offline Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2016, 03:30 PM
RustySpork is online now
Find More Posts by RustySpork
Registered User
United States, TX, Odessa
Joined Jun 2011
709 Posts
Yep. Only other viable options I have are a 10x8 that's a 4 blade, or an actual splendor prop, but I don't want to either run that on 7s or cut it. Maybe I'll pick up a couple and experiment.
RustySpork is online now Find More Posts by RustySpork
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2016, 03:04 PM
Wild Bill is online now
Find More Posts by Wild Bill
Registered User
Wild Bill's Avatar
Brawley, CA. USA
Joined May 2000
509 Posts
What does the stock motor weigh? I've been searching for over an hour off and on, using different search terms, for the info. At least I found out that the motor has a Kv of 525.
Wild Bill is online now Find More Posts by Wild Bill
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2016, 03:08 PM
dbdukeboy is offline
Find More Posts by dbdukeboy
Newbe learning everyday!
dbdukeboy's Avatar
United States, OH, Parma Heights
Joined Aug 2012
1,146 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wild Bill View Post
What does the stock motor weigh? I've been searching for over an hour off and on, using different search terms, for the info. At least I found out that the motor has a Kv of 525.
I have a spare motor at home I can weigh it for you later
dbdukeboy is offline Find More Posts by dbdukeboy
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 02, 2016, 03:45 PM
Wild Bill is online now
Find More Posts by Wild Bill
Registered User
Wild Bill's Avatar
Brawley, CA. USA
Joined May 2000
509 Posts
I'd appreciate that.
Wild Bill is online now Find More Posts by Wild Bill
Reply With Quote


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion NEW!!!! E-Flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF/PNP!!! DFflyer 3D Foamies 4122 Apr 10, 2016 04:31 PM
For Sale NIB E-Flite Carbon-Z Yak Servo Cobra68 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Jan 27, 2013 05:02 PM
Sold E-Flite Carbon Cub UMX BNF $95 daver22 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jan 27, 2013 03:48 PM
Sold E-flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 PNP *LPU* jjohns51 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Jan 06, 2013 02:37 PM
Sold E-Flite Carbon-Z Yak 54 BNF 2rbimmer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Feb 16, 2011 09:44 PM