Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 13, 2011, 05:35 PM
Up up and away!
FpvKiwi's Avatar
Sweden
Joined Oct 2010
700 Posts
ANALOG_IN_4 <-- Cool, opportunity for a versatile user input. How about.. setting the scale for the radar screen? Choosing between options in the on-screen menu system?
FpvKiwi is offline Find More Posts by FpvKiwi
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 14, 2011, 02:42 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Reason for the special treatment of the RSSI input could be, that you can only draw very very small current from the Rx-chips RSSI without risking to reduce range. So a pot to ground may already be to much.

My suggestion (a bit hard to explain):
- Use ANALOG_IN_4 to adjust a gain, that is multiplied with the analog value of ANALOG_IN_3. Some value will represnt 100%, so you adjust your pot to have a reading of like 99% when your TX is on.
- Make a constant in the config that represents what percentage of the initial RSSI voltage represents a RSSI of 0%. This is the only value that has to be adjusted for each individual Rx. Can be smaller and greater than 100 (percent) to deal with Rx that have positive or negative slope of RSSI.

Example for my Rx to clarify:
RSSI level: 100% is a voltage of 1100 mV, 0% equals 800 mV
So I would set the constant to 77 (percent) and program the device. Later I will adjust the poti that I have like 99% RSSI when my Tx is on and close by.
That should be enough to have it adjusted to show 0 to 100% correctly.

Parity
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 07:27 AM
Registered User
Joined Aug 2011
17 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parity View Post
Reason for the special treatment of the RSSI input could be, that you can only..
I am not sure if g-osd has RSSI input, does it? I'd like to see it somehow tho'
Jancis is offline Find More Posts by Jancis
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 07:58 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Of course it has. Two inputs for batteries PLUS one input for the RSSI.
And this RSSI input is different from the others (by hardware).

Just look at the manual or my g-osd in the attachement.

Parity
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 08:13 AM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Parity: I like how you describe the text on the backside of the board as "the manual".
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 08:15 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Parity View Post
Just look at the manual OR my g-osd in the attachement.
I wrote OR. With manual I mean this colorful sheet that came with the g-osd, also availible for download from the HK website.

Parity
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2011, 02:03 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Jose
Joined Jul 2009
1,359 Posts
Hey Parity,

I like really like your minimal OSD layout. Is RSSI, compass bearing, etc working in your build? Could you tell me which code/build you used and the steps to compile it to hex file in AVR Studio (or whatever compiler you used)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parity View Post
Finally registered here, but was working with cl-osd since callelj published the code.
I use cl-osd as well, and I am able to customize it to my likeing.
I prefer only little information at the moment, you can see my screen layout here:
Altitude, LOS-distance, Speed, Voltage and RSSI and home arrow.

Parity


patricklupo is offline Find More Posts by patricklupo
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2011, 03:31 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Not yet ready to fly. Speed, altitude, distance from home and home arrow are working fine. But still some problems with the voltage readings of battery and RSSI, but it is totally possible to fix that.

cl-osd will be flying, it's just a matter of time. Great work by callelj.
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2011, 04:29 PM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
83 Posts
Tried my G-OSD today, but not sure if I can trust it:
HK G-OSD keeps crashing (0 min 26 sec)

Not sure if this is the right place to ask, but has anyone else experienced anything like this with the original firmware?

Hoping it will be better with CL-OSD installed
Baggus is offline Find More Posts by Baggus
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2011, 08:39 PM
Navigator
volto's Avatar
USA, CO, Durango
Joined Sep 2010
670 Posts
That seems like something other than the osd crashing. Looks like maybe a power brownout.
volto is offline Find More Posts by volto
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2011, 09:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Jun 2010
83 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by volto View Post
That seems like something other than the osd crashing. Looks like maybe a power brownout.
Voltage was high enough. Thinking it may be the camera not sending a proper sync...
Baggus is offline Find More Posts by Baggus
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2011, 03:35 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
I have fixed the ADC bug, added a nicer arrow and fixed other bugs.

But my E-OSD _AND_ my G-OSD are now unable to program so thelast commit to svn is untested.
With E-OSD I tried to enable debug wire and it stopped responding to programming.
And the G-OSD I think I had a glitch while programming so the fuses got messed up.
I'm not sure what the exact error is, but now I keep getting the following error:

Quote:
avrdude.exe: warning: cannot set sck period. please check for usbasp firmware update.
avrdude.exe: error: programm enable: target doesn't answer. 1
avrdude.exe: initialization failed, rc=-1
Double check connections and try again, or use -F to override
this check.


avrdude.exe done. Thank you.
I know that the last error might be fixed with an external clock source but it will take some time to fix so in the meantime no work can be done. (Or atleast tested by me.)
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Last edited by callelj; Sep 16, 2011 at 03:37 PM. Reason: Spelling...
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2011, 04:01 PM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
Does it help if I read my fuses and post this data?
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2011, 04:08 PM
CL-OSD developer
Sverige, Östergötlands Län, Linköping
Joined Apr 2011
279 Posts
Nope, can't get any connection with the chip. Even to read it ID....
callelj is offline Find More Posts by callelj
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2011, 04:22 PM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Joined Sep 2011
114 Posts
But you dont think it has something to do with the latest changes in code?
Parity is offline Find More Posts by Parity
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM