HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 10, 2010, 09:14 PM
'Lectric Aficionado
USA, TX, San Angelo
Joined Mar 2006
685 Posts
Idea
How about a piYak??!!

Ok a little background here. My two favorite foamies are Sr71fan's pi plane and Leadfeather's EPP Yak. SO I wondered how would a piYak fly if it existed? Well it actually flies great! And with the EPP construction, it is going to last longer too which is a real bonus since I have built like 10 pi planes in the last couple years. Here is what I used to build it.

9mm 1.9 lb EPP foam
pico servos x 3
AR6100 rx
BW 1500 kv motor
GWS 9x4.7 prop
Turnigy plush 10 esc
500 mAh 2s LiPo
plastic HK motor mount

The disc is 18" in diameter and fuse 23" in length overall

Also I have no plans made, and since I have no CAD program there are no plans for plans lol If anyone out there wants to draw some plans, I can give you dimensions.

I have attached a pic and a video. This is my first time to edit a video, and first time to upload one too, so be gentle. I had no camera man handy so I had to go it on my own. It is also the test flight which actually went pretty well.

This is now my new favorite plane!

Mark

First flight of the piYak!! (2 min 58 sec)
aeronot is offline Find More Posts by aeronot
Last edited by aeronot; Apr 10, 2010 at 10:00 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 10, 2010, 10:52 PM
Flying...Pushing Air Down
Clovis, NM, USA
Joined Nov 2000
3,548 Posts
piYak

Too COOL!

Great! Now, I'll have to build one.

WooHoo!
sr71fan is offline Find More Posts by sr71fan
Old Apr 10, 2010, 10:57 PM
USA, IA, Sioux City
Joined Apr 2005
182 Posts
That is one cool little airplane Great job
aranel is offline Find More Posts by aranel
Old Apr 10, 2010, 10:58 PM
Joined Oct 2007
6 Posts
I want one

Very nice Mark I need the template and some of your eppUnless you would like to build me one.
Tom Madron is offline Find More Posts by Tom Madron
Old Apr 10, 2010, 11:05 PM
Flying...Pushing Air Down
Clovis, NM, USA
Joined Nov 2000