HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 26, 2014, 07:09 AM
United States, FL, West Palm Beach
Joined Sep 2014
62 Posts
Build Log
The Gator Law Dart

I spent my Saturday building my first DTF scratchbuild. I need to weigh it and buy some electronics so I can see if it will fly. 30 inch by 5 inch wingspan and 30 inch fuse. 12 inch wide tail and 6 inch tall. Recommendations for added stability welcome. This is my first try so if there are fundamental issues please point them out. I've got chopsticks and rubber bands to connect the wing. Still need to split the wing control surfaces. Overall happy with my first try.
Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1414325325.409057.jpg
Views: 62
Size: 172.3 KB
Description: Name: ImageUploadedByTapatalk1414325331.897240.jpg
Views: 71
Size: 145.3 KB
Description:
lucky53s is offline Find More Posts by lucky53s
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 26, 2014, 08:33 AM
Joined Sep 2014
62 Posts
I named it the lawn dart because it's probably only a matter of time til it goes in nose first.
Old Oct 26, 2014, 08:39 AM
yank and bank!!
Joined May 2013
2,198 Posts
Been there, done that, destroyed it in 5 minutes by making it too heavy.... btw what is your skill level?

You REALLY should play around with a wing cube loading calculator to see how much total weight the plane can have before trying to fly it.... I'd imagine it shouldn't weigh more than 12oz all up ready to fly.

If you don't need it to be hyper aerobatic you could build a second identical wing and join them with a CF spar and have double the wing area...

p.s. that tape could add surprising amounts of weight.
failboat is offline Find More Posts by failboat
Old Oct 26, 2014, 08:49 AM
United States, IL, St Charles
Joined Dec 2010
178 Posts
Love the Gator colors! I lived in hogtown from '87 to '97 and still get down there as often as I can.