HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 03, 2012, 10:06 AM
Joined Aug 2012
38 Posts
Discussion
Setup Turnigy 9x with Align Trex 100x

So I just got a new Turnigy 9x to use with my 100x.
I am new the whole Heli hobby and well this remote is out of this world!

Wondering if anyone can help me set it up?
Like pretty much from scratch as its my first time with this remote and its scary looking haha.
SavellM is offline Find More Posts by SavellM
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 03, 2012, 04:45 PM
United States, CA, Los Angeles
Joined Jun 2012
26 Posts
Here are some of my basic settings for TRex 100x:

SYSTEM SETTING
TYPE SELE
_HELI
__HELI 1
MODEUAT
_PPM
STICK SET
_MODE2
__THRO REVERSE? (I hit exit at this point)

FUNC SETTING
REVERSE
_reverse ELE (set to REV), leave everything else normal (NOR)
THR/CV
_an ok curve is L(0%) 1(46.0%) 2(53.0%) 3(60.0%) H(100%), but you can fine tune it as you go.
_you can set 3 diff curves, change position of the [AUX 3]F MODE[MIX] switch while in this menu to adjust them.
E.POINT
_can be set up to 120% (only change AIL and ELE for now)
_I set AIL to 115% in both directions, ELE to 120% up, 100% down (personal pref)
THR HOLD
_STATE ACT
_HOD POS -30%
AUX-CH
_CH5 GEAR
FAIL SAF
_THR F/S 000% (personal pref)
TIMER
_STATE ACT
_MIN 5
_SEC 30
GYROSENS
_STATE ACT
_UPRATE NOR 030 (personal pref)
_DOWNRATE AVC 075 (personal pref)
_MODEL GY

There are more settings, like setting mixes and dual-rates, but this should get you going for a bit.

In this setup:
THR CUT switch (back left) will stop the motor from spinning, regardless of throttle position.
TRN switch (back right) starts a timer of 5:30. It will start beeping at 4:30, and end after 5:30. (most of my batteries last 5:30-6:00 flights). Don't run your batteries till dead. A battery can be ruined by a single flight this way.
GEAR switch (right side, in front of TRN) will switch your gyro mode from HH mode to rate mode. I'd leave it as is for now.