HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old May 14, 2014, 03:54 PM
Joined Jun 2008
36 Posts
Discussion
Which connectors to choose for a 12s setup

Hi,

I am currently converting my first big electric plane. I have Hacker Q80-8M and am going to run it on 2 x 6s 5000mAh lipos. As I am fairly new to giant electrics I have all the equipment to purchase.

I am going to go with Junsi 308Duo charger and probably Junsi S1200 power with that. I would also like to be able charge 4 batteries at the same time, can someone point to me a good parallel board to go with this charger?

I have to also decide what connectors to use, and when deciding now I need to buy a lot of them and make all the needed wires etc. For some reason I am thinking of EC-5 at the moment but really I am not sure about that either.

So please recommend connector type for my use and what gauge wires to get and possible other points that I have missed.

Any help appreciated!

Br
Olli
Olli-Matti is offline Find More Posts by Olli-Matti
to remove ads between posts
Old May 14, 2014, 04:39 PM
Joined Jun 2007
25 Posts
Yup,
EC-5 is my favorite. I have not found anything better. I
I find that I never have to use a soldering iron anymore because using a small butane torch is much easier to do the soldering part. I have EC-5's on my 6 cell 5000's and like the way they keep a finished look. I use a Jig is Up to make things easier. I used to use a 2x4 with a few drilled holes and got sick of burning wood all the time.
Some feel that you can't remove the bullets from the connector easily but all you have to do is push the other gender bullet on to the inside of the blue connector and use a channel locks or good size pliers to just squeeze a bit and the bullet just pops out.
It seems like a personal thing on which connectors but I think these are the easiest for me.
The gauge wire that comes with a 6s 5000's is fine for EC5's.
Only do 1 bullet a time and get it safely into the EC5 before continuing
to avoid a nasty short.