SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Oct 09, 2012, 04:55 PM
Joined Aug 2011
55 Posts
Discussion
Trimming with servos reversed

I am fairly new to this hobby, and am trying to sort out trimming functions on the Turnigy 9x v2. I have the elevator servo reversed, and this appears to have also reversed the trim adjuster on the transmitter, that is, if I trim the elevator up whilst flying, the elevator actually moves down, even tho the indicator on the transmitter is moving up. Is this how it is supposed to work, and if so, what system do flyers use to remember which way to move the trim switches?

Dave
suzygs1000 is offline Find More Posts by suzygs1000
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2012, 05:15 PM
United States, MD, Kensington
Joined Dec 2008
316 Posts
You always move the trim switch the direction you'd move the stick to get the same effect. For example, since you move the elevator stick down (or toward you) to get the plane to go up, you move the trim switch one click down to get the plane to go up a little more than it was before. Same thing right and left.

On my Spektrum transmitters, the little indicator on the display moves the same way (down if I click down, etc.).

The servo being reversed makes no difference.

Oh, now I see your point. Yes, if you mean "trim the elevator up" meaning you push the "up" trim (away from you), yes, that makes the plane go down, and it does that by the elevator moving down.
michaelingp is offline Find More Posts by michaelingp
Old Oct 09, 2012, 05:27 PM
Joined Sep 2010
3,956 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by suzygs1000 View Post