HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 18, 2014, 01:57 PM
United States, CA, Orange County
Joined Jun 2014
8 Posts
Discussion
How did the F3B/F Airfoils evolve in the last 10/15 years ?

Hi,

What has been the evolution of the airfoils used for F3B/F in the last 10/15 years and what is the current trend ?

From what I read here and there, I understood that the airfoils evolved to privilege high speed at low lift.
Is it true ? If yes, why low lift; is that a way to lower the drag drastically ? And why do the F3B/F planes can carry more ballast than ever before ?

How do the pros develop their airfoils, do they "play" with X-foil to change the characteristics here and there and see if the polars get better or do they use some kind of programs to do an automatic optimization ?

I'm new to RCgroups and did search on this forum (and Modeling Science forum) about this specific subject but didn't find much, pardon me if I missed THE thread and if my question is a repeat.

FlyRob
Smooth winds to all
FlyRob is offline Find More Posts by FlyRob
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 18, 2014, 04:34 PM
El picudo del agave
Thousand Oaks, CA
Joined Mar 2004
2,692 Posts
The trend toward low lift airfoils and high ballast capacities are both largely the result of snap-flap mixing. These models spend the vast majority of their flight at very low CL, and a small portion (turns and launches) at very high CL. Snap-flaps allow the design to be optimized toward the low-lift regime yet still have excellent high-lift performance.

I interchange lift and CL above but the difference is important. Generally lift = weight but CL varies with 1/airspeed^2. Hence you can see why a fast plane must operate at very low CL. Airfoil design is largely a game of shifting the CL at which peak airfoil efficiency (L/D) is achieved. Most designs try to align that peak with the most common operating condition (e.g. cruise) but that comes at a cost to the structure, handling, and off-design performance.