Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:39 PM
Registered User
United States, NC, Pilot Mountain
Joined Oct 2011
171 Posts
Does everybody's Beast V2 have a slight delay in the throttle. Mine reminds me of my wifes throttle-by-wire van. Its a very small delay but it is noticeable in flight,, more so when its in my hand.
Ikankrachuhmoll is offline Find More Posts by Ikankrachuhmoll
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:40 PM
I hate winter!
binaryclock's Avatar
Canada, ON, Barrie
Joined Jul 2011
1,737 Posts
I don't like quads very much at all. But I guess they could be fun if one happened to appear for free in my hands.
binaryclock is offline Find More Posts by binaryclock
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:43 PM
Tweaker
RemE's Avatar
Corona Del Mar
Joined Sep 2005
7,070 Posts
They make great camera platforms!
RemE is offline Find More Posts by RemE
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:46 PM
Too much to do not enough time
BobaFett1138's Avatar
Wisconsin
Joined Sep 2010
273 Posts
I finally broke down, and bought the V2 beast with my birthday money. I overcame the inner prejudice in me against AS3X, and boy am I glad! Despite the cold weather and snow, the beast handled amazingly well! I was having trouble hovering it, though I think that's a relic of the cold air sapping my battery power. The KE flight is SOOOOOOOO good, personally I think the rudder control is vastly improved over the original. Perfect hammerhead on my first try. It's fast and the AS3X stability is really noticeably with the wind I have. Finally, spot-landed it within a foot of my mark, I had to shovel off my driveway and I only had a little landing zone. It flew all the way in, didn't tip-stall, and tapped down on the snowy pavement. This thing is a dream to fly!!!!

1 question to anyone that might know: because of the AS3X, can I make any mods? I wanted to make my own set of enclosing foam wheel pants, as the original profile ones have not improved any. Will the extra drag screw around with the stability?

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ikankrachuhmoll View Post
Does everybody's Beast V2 have a slight delay in the throttle. Mine reminds me of my wifes throttle-by-wire van. Its a very small delay but it is noticeable in flight,, more so when its in my hand.
Yes, I do notice it on mine. It's not major, but there is the slightest of delays especially wen pushing the throttle to the wall.
BobaFett1138 is offline Find More Posts by BobaFett1138
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 03:53 PM
Tweaker
RemE's Avatar
Corona Del Mar
Joined Sep 2005
7,070 Posts
Mod away, AS3X is merely a stabilizer!
RemE is offline Find More Posts by RemE
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:01 PM
Too much to do not enough time
BobaFett1138's Avatar
Wisconsin
Joined Sep 2010
273 Posts
Excellent..... muhahaw! Thanks, and sorry for my giddiness. I honestly cannot remember having more fun with any RC plane. Now I just need to stay away from lakes.......
BobaFett1138 is offline Find More Posts by BobaFett1138
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 04:07 PM
Registered User
TexasFlyer's Avatar
Houston, TX
Joined Sep 2005
1,015 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by turnerm View Post
I wonder what negative expo would to the 3D Beast?
I have a DX7 with the following expo and like it:
* Ailerons +20. This helps me with slow rolls on high rates
* Rudder. -20 This makes it respond sooner and now does rolling circles with the same amount of stick movement I'm used to on my larger 3D planes
* Elevator -40. This makes it respond faster to help with hovering. Again, I'm used to 3D planes with very effective elevators.

This basically allows me to fly the B3D the same as everything else. Is it needed? Absolutely not. Its just fine with no programming. This is just a preference.

Alan
TexasFlyer is offline Find More Posts by TexasFlyer
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2012, 07:37 PM
Gone Huckin'
turnerm's Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Joined Jan 2011
9,259 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasFlyer View Post
I have a DX7 with the following expo and like it:
* Ailerons +20. This helps me with slow rolls on high rates
* Rudder. -20 This makes it respond sooner and now does rolling circles with the same amount of stick movement I'm used to on my larger 3D planes
* Elevator -40. This makes it respond faster to help with hovering. Again, I'm used to 3D planes with very effective elevators.

This basically allows me to fly the B3D the same as everything else. Is it needed? Absolutely not. Its just fine with no programming. This is just a preference.

Alan
Thanks. When I get my replacement Beast I'll definitely try the negative expo on the elevator.
turnerm is offline Find More Posts by turnerm
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 09:06 AM
3D... the only way to fly!
snjbird's Avatar
Kissimmee
Joined Apr 2010
336 Posts
Hey guys, just opened my order from All E RC, and thought I might shoot a couple of comparison photos





I had not had the chance to add Velcro to the Hyperions yet, so they will be a mil higher in the plane... the 240 looks like it will be tight
snjbird is offline Find More Posts by snjbird
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 11:46 AM
Gravity is a cruel mistress...
Blucross's Avatar
United States, FL, Orlando
Joined Mar 2011
724 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by snjbird View Post
Hey guys, just opened my order from All E RC, and thought I might shoot a couple of comparison photos....

...I had not had the chance to add Velcro to the Hyperions yet, so they will be a mil higher in the plane... the 240 looks like it will be tight
Hey bud, I ran into the same issue with the same packs. For me, it was just a matter of cutting off the thick foam battery hatch tab and replacing it with a thin piece of scrap CF. It makes just the right amount of clearance to slide in there with these bigger packs.

Here's mine.

PS What are you doing on a plank forum?!
Blucross is offline Find More Posts by Blucross
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 01:37 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Sebastopol
Joined Dec 2010
7,138 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blucross View Post
Hey bud, I ran into the same issue with the same packs. For me, it was just a matter of cutting off the thick foam battery hatch tab and replacing it with a thin piece of scrap CF. It makes just the right amount of clearance to slide in there with these bigger packs.
And, really, you don't even need the CF tab. The magnets hold it down just fine. I've been flying like this from the first days of the v1.
erkq is offline Find More Posts by erkq
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 01:59 PM
Way to many airplanes!
Canada, QC
Joined Oct 2009
5,453 Posts
FINALLY!!!!! I got to fly my Beast 3D in almost no wind!!! I maidened it, and flew it until now, in heavy wind, so could not really see what it was capable of. Now I know. I was impressed before, but I'm blowned away now! Here's a video... The smoke in the beginning is not a lipo burning.... That's just me trying to survive in the cold!

E-Flite UMX Beast 3D (3 min 29 sec)
RealGambler is offline Find More Posts by RealGambler
Last edited by RealGambler; Jan 21, 2012 at 02:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 02:08 PM
3D... the only way to fly!
snjbird's Avatar
Kissimmee
Joined Apr 2010
336 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blucross View Post
Hey bud, I ran into the same issue with the same packs. For me, it was just a matter of cutting off the thick foam battery hatch tab and replacing it with a thin piece of scrap CF. It makes just the right amount of clearance to slide in there with these bigger packs.

Here's mine.

PS What are you doing on a plank forum?!
I hope it calms down here this evening, and I'll get to try them out! Yea I know what is snjbird doing flying a fixed wing? Well these UMX have me hooked, I'm thinking of building a 25% BLS conversion SBACH
snjbird is offline Find More Posts by snjbird
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 02:24 PM
LiPo-Sucker & Airframe EMT
pugsam's Avatar
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Joined Aug 2010
3,518 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RealGambler View Post
FINALLY!!!!!.....Here's a video.....
Very cool!

- Nice hovers!

- I thought you might be getting a bit close to the trees.

- And, was that a KE touch-and-go at 1:49???!!!


But, no worries!

And I'll never again complain about a little cold or a rough landing strip!

pugsam is offline Find More Posts by pugsam
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2012, 03:21 PM
Gopher huntin' stick jockey
turboparker's Avatar
East Bethel, MN USA
Joined Jul 2009
11,630 Posts
RG,

Great flying! And as Dave noted - nice hovers!

Haven't flown the Beast outdoors for awhile now, and I had a gig last Sat night, so I missed our last indoor session. Looking forward to flying indoors tonight. I'll be bringing my indoor-tuned B3D, brushless mCP X, and of course the mQX! I'm betting that the air will literally be buzzing with little quads tonight! I hope it's not too crowded to fly the Beast. I do enjoy flying my rotarcraft, but they do not fully satisfy my RC addiction, as I am still a fixed-wing pilot at heart. And right now, I really, really, really, REALLY need a fixed-wing fix!!

Joel
turboparker is offline Find More Posts by turboparker
RCG Plus Member
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ParkZone Ultra Micro T-28!!! THE Owners Thread!!!! dkintx Micro Ready-to-Fly 9971 Yesterday 11:49 AM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread - Part 2 monitor Parkflyers 2602 Jun 15, 2014 04:51 PM
Discussion UM beast, Now your talking qman Micro Ready-to-Fly 102 Dec 22, 2010 10:39 AM
Discussion The first OFFICIAL Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26XP BNF by ParkZone Owners thread skyjet Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Mar 19, 2010 03:00 PM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread monitor Parkflyers 913 Oct 04, 2005 09:02 PM