HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 30, 2014, 12:11 AM
Joined Feb 2009
130 Posts
Question
Storing LiFe batteries...full or half charge?

Hey folks, I searched all over the web, with no answers. Is it safe to store LiFe batteries at full charge?

I have been using lipo's for years, and always store them at a storage charge. Well, I replaced my Nimh pack in my Transmitter, with a LiFe pack, and bought a spare LiFe pack for it as well. As a spare, it would make sense to have it charged, and ready to swap in if need be. Is storing a LiFe the same as storing a LiPo? I sure hope not, since that sort of makes a spare pack, only a half charged spare pack, if needed in a hurry.
Jimbo45 is offline Find More Posts by Jimbo45
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 30, 2014, 04:25 AM
Letchworth, Great Britain (UK)
Joined Jul 2004
12,024 Posts
LiFe batteries are much safer than LiPos in that they can take much more abuse without going up in flames. I've been using A123 for several years now as main power batteries, and I always store them at full charge so that they're ready to go.

One disadvantage of LiFe is that their voltage changes so little between 100% charge and 20% charge that it's difficult to measure accurately what % remains. And then at a certain point (I don't know exactly what it is) the voltage will suddenly drop drastically, and not recover when the load is removed. I'm not sure how that will work out with your transmitter's low-voltage alarm.
abenn is offline Find More Posts by abenn
Old Oct 30, 2014, 10:51 AM
Southern Pride
Haralson County GA. USA
Joined Oct 2004
34,839 Posts
LiFePO4 left at full charge is not really an issue and fact is that LiPolys used in low discharge rate applications such as RC transmitters or receivers are not an issue either.

Comparison graph LiFePO4 and LSD NiMH from just over 4 years ago.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...&postcount=172

Charles
everydayflyer is online now Find More Posts by everydayflyer