HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 19, 2014, 10:56 AM
United States, TX, Houston
Joined May 2013
143 Posts
Discussion
Thunder Tiger 40 Pro bearings?

Hey guys,
I'm just beginning pylon. I plan to run C40 and 424. (Q500 plane with a TT40 motor?)
I have heard that the stock bearings should be replaced with better ones.
I get that..
After reading various forum threads I get the feeling that going to ceramic is maybe not needed. I've seen references to choosing bearings with phenolic retainers, or plastic cages.
I have looked at Boca Bearings, and Rc Bearings and I see options but not very good descriptions of the parts that they are selling. I can't tell what type of cages are in the bearings on the websites.
Am I the only one confused by this?
For example, on Rc Bearings, the choices are:
1. 40 Pro Pylon
2. Pro Stainless.
The descriptions in the text are exactly the same.
Jim
doehunter is offline Find More Posts by doehunter
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 19, 2014, 01:49 PM
Tampa,Fl
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined Jan 2007
1,367 Posts
The ceramic ones are ceramic and the stainless ones are stainless. Don't worry about he general description.

On the older TT40's there was a problem with the metal bearing retainer. They have since fixed that. And my experience with All types of bearings. Has been that the stock ones are just as good. Don't waist your money. I did and found No exceptional difference.

If your not sure about the bearing. Simply remove the back plate off the motor and see if the cage is Plastic.
Dale 813 is online now Find More Posts by Dale 813
Old Mar 19, 2014, 02:07 PM
Tampa,Fl
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined Jan 2007
1,367 Posts
The trick is on a new one is the break in process. Break a New motor on aTest stand. I use a 8X5 apc prop to break in my motors. Run it rich. DO NOT OVER LEAN YOUR MOTOR.
Old Mar 19, 2014, 04:24 PM
Joined May 2013
143 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dale 813 View Post